Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

    This is a discussion on SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hello every one, Just wanted some suggestions.... I have a 7800n which I am using with SKY. I signed up ...

    1. #1
      saruche's Avatar
      saruche is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      Hello every one,

      Just wanted some suggestions....

      I have a 7800n which I am using with SKY. I signed up a now contract and was luckily sent the new SKY HUB.
      The sky hub looks really nice and cool compared to the 7800n ( I am sure most will agree the billion looks more like a brick!)

      I am considering replacing the 7800n with the Sky Hub (for aesthetic reason only). However, I am wondering will Sky Hub have the same wireless range as 7800n? Will I get lower browsing, streaming, downloadng, gaming speeds if I used sky hub?

      Thanks guys


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      I am considering replacing the 7800n with the Sky Hub (for aesthetic reason only). However, I am wondering will Sky Hub have the same wireless range as 7800n? Will I get lower browsing, streaming, downloadng, gaming speeds if I used sky hub?
      Only you can answer that by comparing the 2 surely?

      Early indications were that the Hub had improved wireless etc - However, plenty of reports saying that it doesn't.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      Do what I did when I first received the Sky Hub: Install inSSIDer, plug the two in next to each other and try them both.

      If you have a Laptop, move around and go to different parts of your home.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      I advise against the Sky Hub on the basis that it's not as good as Sky say it is. I got it not long ago, and have found the wireless range to be worse than the old Wireless-N Sky router, and the software is buggy. Also it is not worth 39. It's out of date before it was released. Get a different router and you'll be happier.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      ^^ Thats company loyalty for you. pmsl
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      I don't know why you are asking, the Sky hub is just not in the same class as the Billion in any way. It is like comparing a Ford and a Bentley.

      If you don't have another Sky router getting the username and pasword may be your problem.
      Last edited by Isitme; 13-11-12 at 08:45 PM. Reason: Fixed typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      Quote Originally Posted by indefatigable View Post
      I advise against the Sky Hub on the basis that it's not as good as Sky say it is. I got it not long ago, and have found the wireless range to be worse than the old Wireless-N Sky router, and the software is buggy. Also it is not worth 39. It's out of date before it was released. Get a different router and you'll be happier.
      Which firmware do you currently have installed? The current one is 1.15i.2202.R . This works perfectly well on my own Sky Hub. There are a couple of minor issues outstanding, if you know where to look, but these are trivial and don't affect the functionality of the Sky Hub.

      Sure we were all hoping for a 300mb WiFi and 1Gbit LAN ports, with the addition of a USB port and perhaps one or two other extras, but sadly this didn't happen. I am hoping that these features will be in the next router that Sky builds.

      As for signal strength, I have mentioned before that it had been reported in the Beta trial that members had reported a small improvement over the Sagem 2504N. From reports of those who have had this router since it was launched, this seems a little more patchy for many others.

      There are also some additional features promised for the Sky Hub SR101, but I don't know what they are at present. There are things which I am hoping for, but I'd rather wait and see than speculate on these for now.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      saruche's Avatar
      saruche is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      Thanks all.

      I am using the SKYHUB at the moment. It seems to be giving good wireless coverage around my flat.
      Did speed tests on different parts of the room and things are looking good at the moment.

      @Isitme True. 7800n and SR101 are absolutely no comparison. I was just curiou if the HUB delivers a WIFI signal strong enough to go into each and every room, then I might just use the HUB at home and take the Billion to my office.

      @Scubbie I just looked at my firmware and its 1.15h.2138.R. Is there any way I can force an update on it or I just have to wait for it?

      Thanks all

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: SR101 Sky Hub or Billion 7800n

      The updates should be checked for at least once a day be the Sky Hub.

      You could try power cycling the Sky Hub once (i.e. turn it off for say a minute, then turn it on again) and allow it to connect to the Internet. Otherwise there is no procedure to force the update.

      Sky doesn't release the firmware to allow us to update it manually.

      I will check to see what else is happening.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION