Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Can't host games at: Starcraft BW WArcraft III

    This is a discussion on Can't host games at: Starcraft BW WArcraft III within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I think i need public external ip like NewsreadeR said but how can i get it shall i write to ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can't host games at: Starcraft BW WArcraft III

      I think i need public external ip like NewsreadeR said but how can i get it shall i write to sky technical service or is sb here who can help me?
      You already have a public external IP address, in the format I posted at the beginning, if you ring up Sky asking for one, they are likely to;

      1) Not know what you are on about / or they do not know what one is
      2) Laugh at you

      As you don't need to share your IP address, then it has to be a firewall issue.

      You can disable any software firewall, and also put your router into DMZ mode, and try connecting then to see if it works. If it does, then you know it is a Port Forwarding issue, then resolve that. Make sure that you take the router out of DMZ mode once your testing has completed.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can't host games at: Starcraft BW WArcraft III

      Ok let's see if we can get somewhere. When you are not hosting a game and want to join with one of your friends who is hosting, what do you type in the address bar?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      prayznpl89's Avatar
      prayznpl89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't host games at: Starcraft BW WArcraft III

      According to your advice i ve put dmz mode and it works what shall i do now?
      Last edited by prayznpl89; 15-11-12 at 10:29 PM.

    5. #14
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Can't host games at: Starcraft BW WArcraft III

      Just incase you haven't, take it out of dmz mode asap, for a start!

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can't host games at: Starcraft BW WArcraft III

      Quote Originally Posted by prayznpl89 View Post
      According to your advice i ve put dmz mode and it works what shall i do now?
      Put DMZ mode back on, and then get a list of all the ports that need forwarding, then forward them to your PCs IP address. You would be best making your PC have a static IP address and use that.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can't host games at: Starcraft BW WArcraft III

      When you opened the ports(6112-6119) did you select TCP and UDP? If you did, try opening each port individually, rather than selecting a range. It should not matter, but you never know, quite a few have had problems with the Sagem firewall.

      Try turning off the Windows firewall, with a router it does little good anyway.

      Do not leave your PC in the DMZ for any length of time as it is a security risk.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION