Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 25 of 25
    Like Tree1Likes

    billion router on skys mer

    This is a discussion on billion router on skys mer within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Originally Posted by deadman1984 hum so if I wouldn't gain much why does others change it for lol I know ...

    1. #21
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: billion router on skys mer

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      hum so if I wouldn't gain much why does others change it for lol I know I am stupid
      For me more security as I can set up how I want it, with an ISP supplied router you are limited in what you can change and they normaly have a backdoor entry into your router. They can flash it with new firmware without you knowing about it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: billion router on skys mer

      Quote Originally Posted by BritBrat View Post
      ...They can flash it with new firmware without you knowing about it.
      This can be advantageous as most people never check their computer systems for updates until they fall over.

      At the same time the recent update for the Netgear DG834GT has messed it up.

      @DM: Personally speaking, I do prefer to use my own router. The GUI is far more easier to use, even though I'm now getting used to yet another GUI with the WNDR3800. I also have a USB port to connect an external drive or USB memory stick to. Although with this router I can connect a printer too, I have another way of sharing my printer that I am happy with.

      Also, as and when I finally get access to a Fibre product, I should be able to use this router on that connection too.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #23
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: billion router on skys mer

      think i may just link it to the sky router and that way it keeps sky happy without breaking the ruleys lol

    5. #24
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: billion router on skys mer

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      think i may just link it to the sky router and that way it keeps sky happy without breaking the ruleys lol
      It appears to be one of those things that has been put in the T&C's by the legal team but not actually enforced by anyone at sky, i suspect as long as you're not causing harm to the network or calling them up about your unsupported router they probably don't really care providing you keep paying your bill.

      If you need to call them with a problem then it's probably best to connect the router they supply to the line first.

      They may change their stance at some-point and enforcing the T&C's more strictly but until then I'd rather use a router that I can control rather than have my ISP making changes on MY network without so much as consulting me first.
      Scubbie likes this.

    6. #25
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: billion router on skys mer

      hum yea suppose ya right dragon its im afraid of doing it in case sky start get ten funny in the future were they start terminating peoples connections for changing a router

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION