Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    dropping SNR ratio's = increased stability ?

    This is a discussion on dropping SNR ratio's = increased stability ? within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Forcing SNR low has not been a success for me, as my router keeps rebooting every few hours. Of course ...

    1. #11
      moshady's Avatar
      moshady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Forcing SNR low has not been a success for me, as my router keeps rebooting every few hours. Of course then the SNR setting is lost and the experiment is over.

      Have now flashed back to Netgear firmware. I don't hold out high hopes - this is a last ditch attempt to get some stability before I completely give up on the router and try another model.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      LuckyKnight's Avatar
      LuckyKnight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      What is SRA? What exactly does the percentage of SNR (e.g. 200) do? We seriously need a FAQ!!

      I know altering the 200 value alters the SNR? But how does it work it out? Does a 200 value affect everybody sync/SNR in the same way?

      I sometimes have problems with Skype (usually the SNR would be about 5.5 - 6.5) and then there would a conversation that breaks up and sounds metallic. Some people complain of lag when i'm hosting 360 games on live. I would hope raising the SNR might fix these problems.

      Does the URL injection trick also affect the upstream SNR?

      My current stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6123 kbps 983 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 26.1 db
      Noise Margin 6.4 db 6.0 db

      This is at night. Interleaving is disabled. At day I can sync at about 7999.

      According to samknows "You are approximately 1.59km from the exchange (straight line distance)."

      Sometimes the connection would just drop, forcing a reboot.
      Last edited by LuckyKnight; 05-10-06 at 03:35 AM.
      Sky Max 16mb

      Connection Speed: 5999 kbps down 975 kbps up

    4. #13
      LuckyKnight's Avatar
      LuckyKnight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Update: I've tried the tweak and it works quite well to increase my SNR margin. I will let everyone know if it cures my connection issues.
      Sky Max 16mb

      Connection Speed: 5999 kbps down 975 kbps up

    5. #14
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by davidw View Post
      Is there a way of adding Sky & Admin to the line
      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=pi...gure+--snr+200

      This would allow for automatically running it if required.
      you could try adding the username password as part of the url by doing the following:

      http://admin:sky@192.168.0.1/start.htm

      seems to log me in..

      of course replace sky with your password..

    6. #15
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      By the way I've been playing with my SNR set mine for 290. this let me sync 3424kbps with is not as fast as the 5 meg cap my line now have, but this lets me sync with a noise margin of 20db.. been online for 30 hours now.

      My line seems to have a problem with rain and it's been mostly dry this weekend so far, so I don't know if this is going to fix that problem.

      I like this hack I can have a range of SNR setting to selectively choose my connection speed when I want !

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      @moshady

      New info

      a new Skyuser member flagged up some information that's on the Kitz.co.uk site about the DG834GT. (http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm)

      This says that in the command /usr/sbin/adslctl configure --snr N, N = (target SNR*16) which differs from your view that N is a percentage.

      I don't suppose this adds hugely to the sum of knowledge but thought someone, maybe you, might be interested?

    8. #17
      moshady's Avatar
      moshady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      That is interesting. adslctl documentation is hard to come by so I think I picked up that "fact" off a post somewhere. I can see how it could be guessed that N is a percentage as 100 / 16 = 6.25 which is not far off the now known target of 6.9db, so you see a similar sync rate as per normal. Increasing to 200 obviously halves the sync rate you would expect to see as compared to N=100.

      I did wonder they'd implemented the percentage apparently the wrong way round, i.e. higher N reduces the sync rate. This info explains that nicely!

      Thanks for that

    9. #18
      johnmburgess's Avatar
      johnmburgess is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Cheam
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Sutton, Surrey
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I've just discoverd this thread and have tried the fix described. I used SNR = 120 which gave me a Noise Margin of 8.4 and increased my speed to 8294 kbps from notalot. I can live with this on my Max connection.
      Thanks for the tip.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION