Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    netgear whizzard query pls

    This is a discussion on netgear whizzard query pls within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi I an new to setting up a WLAN, I have win XP on a desktop with a netgear USB ...

    1. #1
      stevej58's Avatar
      stevej58 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01282
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      netgear whizzard query pls

      Hi

      I an new to setting up a WLAN, I have win XP on a desktop with a netgear USB adapter. When I install the drivers I get a netgear wireless connection whizzard which autoruns on start up. My question is do I just ignore this or do I need to fill out the boxes SSID, WPA2 etc etc. I have read the FAQ and understand the http://...method of setting up in the router, but what about this netgear whizzard ?

      MTIA
      Steve


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: netgear whizzard query pls

      You can use Netgear utility or Windows' own setup (but not both).

      The Netgear one's resident portion uses memory but I like it. Select your router's wireless signal in the Networks section supply the WPA passphrase (see bottom of Sky router or documentation) create a profile and save.

      For more, see tutorials on this site or help files on CD from Sky.

    4. #3
      stevej58's Avatar
      stevej58 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01282
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: netgear whizzard query pls

      Hi

      Thanks for your post. Please let me re-phrase my question. I wan't to set up using the http.. method in the router as I want certain settings and to connect other devices. So my question is what do I do with the whizzard, even though I don't want to use that method ?

      Thanks
      Steve

    5. #4
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      858
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts

      Re: netgear whizzard query pls

      Sorry Steve but even more confused now!

      Any configuration you do within the router is entirely separate from configuration you do on the PC, although of couse they must agree on things like SSID and Network Key or they wont talk to each other.

    6. #5
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: netgear whizzard query pls

      As per Moleman, I think you are confusing wireless adapter setup (which can be controlled via Netgear Wizard or Windows Zero Configuration) with setting up the router which is done via the your browser. Put 192.168.0.1 into the browser address bar and a router login box will appear (assuming that you are connected to the router by ethernet cable or wireless).

    7. #6
      stevej58's Avatar
      stevej58 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01282
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: netgear whizzard query pls

      Hi guys

      Let me have a last stab at this question.

      I wish to set the router up as per the wireless.pdf tutorial on this site. Using 192.168.0.1 in the url bar of i/e

      However, when I start my PC the Netgear Whizzard is starting up what do I do with this ?

      Cheers
      Steve

    8. #7
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      858
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts

      Re: netgear whizzard query pls

      You will need to follow the wizard to the end, at which point you can continue using the netgear utility to configure your adaptor, or change to the WZC utility.

      You can then make changes to the routers configuration via 192.168.......

      You are getting the netgear wizard because you ran the setup utility on the netgear disk. If you had allowed the windows "Add hardware wizard" to just get the drivers from the disk then the netgear wizard would not be running.

      Hope this helps and doesn't confuse you more!!

    9. #8
      stevej58's Avatar
      stevej58 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01282
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: netgear whizzard query pls

      Hi

      OK, many thanks got it. I hanv't got a install disk just a .exe which installs the drivers and the whizzard, so I have extracted the drivers, uninstalled it and installed the dongle manually with the drivers file. So now it's in and working with no whizzard.

      Cheers
      Steve

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION