Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

    This is a discussion on Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error! within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I've been using a hacked Sky router with my ISP for a while now and have had no problems at ...

    1. #1
      spoon's Avatar
      spoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

      I've been using a hacked Sky router with my ISP for a while now and have had no problems at all, I decided to get my brothers other as a backup, they are the exact same Netgear DG834GT routers (white ones)

      I have hacked the Sky router with several different versions of the Netgear firmware but it just wont work, I keep getting the "CHAP Authentication Failed" error?

      My username and password are correct and I have checked all the settings are the same as the router I'm using now?

      I just cannot understand why one works but the other doesnt?

      Any ideas would be great


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      spoon's Avatar
      spoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

      Sorry to repost but can I backup my details for this router then use it on the router that wont work?

      Thanks

    4. #3
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

      I'm just not with you at all. Your questions make it sound like you're using a different ISP, but your profile says that you're on Sky Broadband Base.

    5. #4
      spoon's Avatar
      spoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

      Sorry for the cunfusion, I'm not with SKY.

      I will probably be flamed now for asking this forum!

      I've changed my profile now.
      Last edited by spoon; 05-02-08 at 08:19 PM.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

      Not at all we are a friendly bunch
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #6
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

      Quote Originally Posted by spoon View Post
      I will probably be flamed now for asking this forum!
      No, no, that's OK. It's just that I couldn't really understand what you were trying to do.

      Once you've put standard Netgear firmware onto a Sky V1 router (the white one) it becomes indistinguishable from an off-the-shelf Netgear DG834GT. There's no reason why one would work OK and another wouldn't.

      If you've got the same version of the firmware on both routers (the latest standard Netgear firmware is V1.02.13), you should indeed be able to backup the configuration of the working router and restore it onto the one that doesn't work. I know you say you've got the details right, but copying the configuration over in that way will eliminate the possibility of human error.

    8. #7
      spoon's Avatar
      spoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

      Thanks for the replies, I'm glad your a friendly bunch

      I will try the backup of this router onto the other and see what happens, i will post back with the results!

      Thanks again

    9. #8
      spoon's Avatar
      spoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hacked DG834GT Sky router CHAP error!

      I am now using the second router by doing the above! I used the back up settings for my other router and bingo!

      Its still annoying as I was certain everything was correct?

      Atleast we now know that a backup of one router can be used on another router aslong as its the same model!

      Thanks for your replies

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION