Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    flashing a sky router

    This is a discussion on flashing a sky router within the Technical discussion forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; hi there If I flash the sky router with a netgear firmware, will this unlock the router to be used ...

    1. #1
      WorthingSaxoVTR's Avatar
      WorthingSaxoVTR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      flashing a sky router

      hi there

      If I flash the sky router with a netgear firmware,

      will this unlock the router to be used on any adsl

      cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: flashing a sky router

      Probably it will.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: flashing a sky router

      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #4
      WorthingSaxoVTR's Avatar
      WorthingSaxoVTR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: flashing a sky router

      tried to flash my dg834gt with netgears dg834gt_1_02_09 and it says it is the wrong upgrade file

      very odd

      any ideas

    6. #5
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: flashing a sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by WorthingSaxoVTR View Post
      tried to flash my dg834gt with netgears dg834gt_1_02_09 and it says it is the wrong upgrade file

      very odd

      any ideas
      Yes, you have to use the netgear recovery program to update the firmware, which you can download from their website.

      You can't do it through the router itself as you have just found out.

      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


    7. #6
      WorthingSaxoVTR's Avatar
      WorthingSaxoVTR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: flashing a sky router

      right tried 5 different machines, all with different NIC cards and all using XP

      and it just wont work, it says it cant find the device after clicking on my network card,

      all other software is of

      getting really annoyed now

      any ideas please

      nigel

    8. #7
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: flashing a sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by WorthingSaxoVTR View Post
      right tried 5 different machines, all with different NIC cards and all using XP

      and it just wont work, it says it cant find the device after clicking on my network card,

      all other software is of

      getting really annoyed now

      any ideas please

      nigel
      Have you got the router in recovery mode i.e. with power and tick LED's flashing alternately. If not, press and hold the reset button while powering it up, and keep pressed for a further 10 seconds at least until the LED's flash. It has to be in this state in order to flash it.
      Last edited by eyemdee; 01-11-07 at 07:19 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION