Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    broadband speed v copper line

    This is a discussion on broadband speed v copper line within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As someone who is supposed to be on max, but capped at 4500, I wonder if bt had to put ...

    1. #1
      big john's Avatar
      big john is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      broadband speed v copper line

      As someone who is supposed to be on max, but capped at 4500, I wonder if bt had to put me onto another line, would that perhaps give me a better dnload speed. Surely if the bt bubble connections are old and possible corroded, then that would affect my speed. Also does anyone has a list of exchange max speeds allowed.

      thanks

      My noise margin is 17 and line attenuation is 44


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: broadband speed v copper line

      Have you tried connecting using the test socket on your BT Master Socket (take off the faceplate to reveal the test socket)?


      If that improves it, then consider getting a filtered faceplate, and/or disconnecting the ring wire.

    4. #3
      big john's Avatar
      big john is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed v copper line

      yep, this is going directly into the master socket.
      I am convinced that the problem is copper wire related. The problem is getting bt to change the line for another.
      I had an engineer here with a laptop and he tested the line for reflections etc.....but went away and never came back. I am 1.8km away from the exchange.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: broadband speed v copper line

      The master socket won't help you see if there's a problem with your internal wiring. Only when you have eliminated that should you consider that the wiring to the exchange could be the problem.

      As Tezcatlipoca suggested, you have to use your test socket.

      BTW With an attenuation of 44db your highest possible connection speed is a shade over 8000kbps i.e. your maximum speed is pretty much the same on Max or Mid.
      Last edited by Saturday; 04-03-07 at 09:30 AM.

    6. #5
      big john's Avatar
      big john is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed v copper line

      ok, well I am going to have a closer look at the socket and see how many wires there are.I dont have any extentions in the house, so that will rule that possibility out.

    7. #6
      big john's Avatar
      big john is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed v copper line

      I have plugged into the test socket and still the same. I also check the wires and there are only 2 connections.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: broadband speed v copper line

      Without telling us what your stats are with each connection it's not possible to give any advice.

      You say you tried the test socket and it was "still the same". Everything stayed the same? If you are capped as you say at 4500kbps then that's not going to change - but the noise margin may have. If so then that indicates a local problem (the two tests need to be within a few minutes of each other to avoid normal noise margin shifts).

      If the results are the same then you might just need the cap removed so you can get the full 8000kbps your line is capable of. You have a huge noise margin (because you are capped) which actually indicates any problem on your line isn't that great i.e. 4500 and 17db probably equates to something around 8000 and 7db.

    9. #8
      big john's Avatar
      big john is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speed v copper line

      These are my stats at present.....

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 4512 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 113900 70351 0 17223 1295 02:11:55
      LAN 10M/100M 2507 669 0 15 1 13:25:12
      WLAN 11M/54M 390114 673107 0 1358 16345 13:21:56


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4512 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 19.7 db 14.0 db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION