Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    High latency

    This is a discussion on High latency within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Since I first got my sky connected, I have been receiving very high latency on my connections, normally above 100ms. ...

    1. #1
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      High latency

      Since I first got my sky connected, I have been receiving very high latency on my connections, normally above 100ms. This is particularly annoying as i play a lot of real-time games.

      Is this down to sky or can I do anything about it at my end?

      Chris.
      Last edited by chrisypea; 03-03-07 at 09:50 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High latency

      Have a look here m8 it will allow you to take screens of graphs to prove the problem exists - L8NC from Netmonitor - Monitor latency, packet loss, and detect intermittent or hard to identify connection faults

    4. #3
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High latency

      OK i went to the site as asked. The graph can be viewed here:

      L8NC graph - Monitoring your internet connection 24 hours a day has never been easier

      As you can see I am registering quite a high ping.

      Any thoughts?

      Chris.

      Edit: Graph for previous day L8NC graph - Monitoring your internet connection 24 hours a day has never been easier
      Last edited by chrisypea; 04-03-07 at 12:12 AM.

    5. #4
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High latency

      To be honest it does not look that bad to me you are getting approx 50ms average, these are from my isp when they had some capacity issues last year. (quickly sorted but a p.i.t.a while it lasted)











    6. #5
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High latency

      Like I said I play a lot of real-time games so 50ms is quite bad and it is more like 60ms anyway.

      With regards to my question, can i do anything about it?

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: High latency

      Yes you can, sorry about this but you need to get your internal wiring sorted. Then get your router stats and someone wiser than me will tell you whats wrong. I believe that you could ask sky to put you on fastpath instead of interleave but they are reluctant to do this as it is less tolerant of errors. Use this utility to get your router stats.

      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.3

    8. #7
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High latency

      Unfortunately, my dad seems extremely reluctant to rewire ANY part of the house.

      Not that I didn't offer to do most of the work with it but he doesn't want carpets lifted etc. as we have just had new ones fitted.

      Is it possible that the latency is down to sky rather than our wiring? *clutching at straws here*

      Perhaps if i plug the router into our test socket I could check this?

      Anyhow, my router stats follow:


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4928 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 43.0 27.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.3 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 5568 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 4928 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 155(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 155 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1025 17.0666
      L: 1248 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5161422 5161420
      SFErr: 32 34
      RS: 350976708 21936035
      RSCorr: 4732175 196
      RSUnCorr: 716 0

      HEC: 27 26
      OCD: 2 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1019815476 0
      Data Cells: 19680810 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 53 0
      SES: 43 0
      UAS: 27 0
      Total time = 1 days 23 min 4 sec
      SF = 5161422
      CRC = 32
      LOS = 46
      LOF = 0
      ES = 53
      Latest 1 day time = 23 min 4 sec
      SF = 81454
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 4 sec
      SF = 28524
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5079968
      CRC = 32
      LOS = 46
      LOF = 0
      ES = 53
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3


      Anybody who can make sense of these is a better man than I am

      Cheers, Chris.

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: High latency

      Hi Chris, I'm not an expert on these router stats, hopefully yesterday might see them and comment. However I can comment on a couple of things - you are on interleave and your snr is quite low. I dont know the route from the master to where your router is but perhaps you could get one of these
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...ace-plate.html
      and then run a dedicated cable to where your router is ?

    10. #9
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High latency

      That is quite possibly an option.

      Would that then cut out the interference of the existing phone lines?

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: High latency

      If you do it as per this diagram and use the a/b connectors purely for the ext to your router then I think it would
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...g-diagram.html

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION