Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

    This is a discussion on Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Why doesn't Sky's ADSL2+ work how its ment to? Everyone says I should get 12mbps on ADSL2+ yet I only ...

    1. #1
      UndeadDevil's Avatar
      UndeadDevil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      Why doesn't Sky's ADSL2+ work how its ment to? Everyone says I should get 12mbps on ADSL2+ yet I only get 7mbps, the same as ADSL1. A friend on Be has the same attenuation (37) and SNR (7dB) as me and he gets 12mbps! All the ADSL2+ Checkers say 10-12mbps, yet here I am with many other Sky users not getting the speed that ADSL2+ should be giving us.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      DIRTY HARRY's Avatar
      DIRTY HARRY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCCAF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Carnforth
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      post your router stats and some one should be able to help you.

      More than likely you are still on G.DMT instead of ADSL2+ sky seem to be doing this to alot of people and hoping they do not realise.

    4. #3
      UndeadDevil's Avatar
      UndeadDevil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      I am on ADSL2+, It took over a hour waiting on the phone to speak to Tier 3, however It must be said, I could never have expected the support to be so good. Then again I did come from Demon. Unlike Demon Sky try to help and generally know what there talking about. On Demon I was lucky to get 400kb/s on downloads (Was connected at 5.6mbps and got millions of HEC errors a hour!, On Sky G.DMT I connect at 7mbps same as the ADSL2+)

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6998 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.2 12.0
      Attn(dB): 40.5 23.6
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 11848 864
      Rate (Kbps): 6998 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 14(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 57 68
      B: 13 23
      M: 16 8
      T: 16 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0196 7.7037
      L: 1883 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 610480 610478
      SFErr: 4 1
      RS: 38460250 5189063
      RSCorr: 1582889 0
      RSUnCorr: 98 0

      HEC: 4 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 161823207 17644271
      Data Cells: 1410266 2304808
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      I've also attached a Screenshot from DMT if that helps.

      Edit: Why the hell does vBulletin resize attached images? Its so small you can't see anything other than the Noise Graph. Is anybody else having problems with skyuser's sendmail server? My servers do not receive any mail from the Sendmail server.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?-7mbps.jpg  
      Last edited by UndeadDevil; 03-03-07 at 01:14 AM.

    5. #4
      Wayne S's Avatar
      Wayne S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Culverhouse
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      How do I find out if I am on D.GMT or ADSL2+ ?

      I cannot find it in the router stats.

    6. #5
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    7. #6
      pwoolley's Avatar
      pwoolley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      Quote Originally Posted by Wayne S View Post
      How do I find out if I am on D.GMT or ADSL2+ ?

      I cannot find it in the router stats.
      Next to Mode on your router stats it shows ADSL2+, also Channel is set to FAST.

      This means you are set on ADSL2+

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      Edit: Why the hell does vBulletin resize attached images?
      If you click on the image it opens out to full size Or do you mean once you have clicked on it?

      You may be better hosting the image and doing an image tag
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #8
      Wayne S's Avatar
      Wayne S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Culverhouse
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      Thanks for that guys.

      Please ignore my ignorance, the stats from the 0.4 utility show that I am on D.GMT. If I press Sky to move me to ADSL2+ will it increase my downstream connection speed?

      I can't believe my line attenuation is so high, I am only 2.7km, by road, from the exchange.

      Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6048 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 13.0 db

    10. #9
      jb51053's Avatar
      jb51053 Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      With those stats you're very unlikely to get any additional speed using ADSL2+, it may even perform worse.

      At a guess your line is closer to 4KM with those stats.

      JB

    11. #10
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Whats wrong with Skys ADSL2+ system?

      It can't me anywhere near 4km, they must take the route of a London taxi if it is THAT distance. I'll let it all settle down over the next week and see what happens then.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION