Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Noise on line

    This is a discussion on Noise on line within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, the noise margin shown below is that bad? if it is how do i go about getting it sorted ...

    1. #1
      kbv1's Avatar
      kbv1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: VM XL 20mb
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise on line

      Hi,

      the noise margin shown below is that bad? if it is how do i go about getting it sorted out, its not my line its my brothers.

      Noise Margin 26.0 db / 27.0 db

      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Noise on line

      That noise margin is excellent.

    4. #3
      kbv1's Avatar
      kbv1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: VM XL 20mb
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise on line

      oh right,lol i thought the high it was the worse it gets,lol what is a bad and good noise margin then?

      thats my Noise Margin 7.3 db 20.0 db

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Noise on line

      The Sky router connects at a minimum of 6.9db so anything above this is good. Remember it is a noise margin i.e. the higher the number the bigger the margin.

      See the first sticky in my signature for a more detailed explanation.

    6. #5
      AndyK's Avatar
      AndyK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen, Lochnagar
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise on line

      You say the router conects at a minimum of 6.9 db. Since getting connected on Monday, my router sats have yet to get as high as 6.9 db, usual varing from 5.5 to 6.2 dB. Despite this have managed a stable connection both wire and wire-free. Surely if 6.9 DB is the minimum, I shouldn't be connecting or am I missing something.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Noise on line

      The Sky router will normally initially sync at 6.9db i.e. each time it connects/powers up. From that first moment the noise margin can immediately rise or fall depending on the line conditions.

      This is all very easy and straightforward with Sky's LLU products as there is in effect no rate adaption taking place (SRA isn't yet implemented on Sky ADSL2+). So if you log in to your router a few seconds after a reboot you'll see the noise margin at 6.9db. Ten minutes later it could be higher or lower than this.

      Connect however (being a rebadged BT ADSL Max product) uses an exchange based rate adaption process and so will in effect vary the ADSL signal to match the line characteristics. Once the line is "trained" this quite possibly can prevent the router from syncing at 6.9db - not having Connect I don't have any personal experience to go on. However, my understanding is that the router will still initially try to sync at 6.9db.

      If when you reboot the router it doesn't initially sync at 6.9db then that's interesting information.

    8. #7
      AndyK's Avatar
      AndyK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen, Lochnagar
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise on line

      Did a reboot and checked noise immediately and read 5.6 dB.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION