Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    some Problems

    This is a discussion on some Problems within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I am new Sky customer and i am having few problems with the connection, speed and download. Internet get ...

    1. #1
      Da_killer's Avatar
      Da_killer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southall, Greater London
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      some Problems

      Hi

      I am new Sky customer and i am having few problems with the connection, speed and download.

      Internet get desconnect at random time, what could the reason B?

      Connection stats are below, could they be any better?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2912 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 13.0 db

      And the last Question is: My torrent speed used to be 250KB above on on AOL as well as on sky but after i reinstalled the Utorrent, i get about 50kb, any idea??

      Thanks in adv.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: some Problems

      what package are you on?
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    4. #3
      DiN's Avatar
      DiN
      DiN is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: some Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Da_killer View Post

      And the last Question is: My torrent speed used to be 250KB above on on AOL as well as on sky but after i reinstalled the Utorrent, i get about 50kb, any idea??

      Thanks in adv.
      Try A Diffrent Port Number Like : 55555, And Also Check If The Download Is Limited.

      And Sure Yeah Your Getting Full Upload Speed Which Is Great!

      Also Check That Your Filters Are Secured Properly!

    5. #4
      Da_killer's Avatar
      Da_killer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southall, Greater London
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: some Problems

      Hi thanks for reply

      what package are you on?

      I am on Max

      And to DiN
      I have tried the portchanging and i aslo have changed the settings on my router, nothing seems to work, are u wanting me to try 555555 Port???


      thanks

    6. #5
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: some Problems

      There is a bug in the router that shows the attenuation as 15.5db when this is wrong.

      You need to try resetting your router via the reset hole on the back. Push a pen tip in for a second or so. Do not hold it in for any longer otherwise it will reset the router back to default and so you will lose any changes you have made.

      Then when the router is back up see if your stats have changed.

      I believe DiN is saying change the port number and he gave the example 55555 that you could try.

      I am on Max and have no problem with uTorrent. I get speeds in excess of 1000Kb/s. Are you sure the tracker is connecting properly and that there is enough seeds. Just as a test you could find a torrent with lots of seeds and only few peers to find out if there is a problem

    7. #6
      Da_killer's Avatar
      Da_killer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southall, Greater London
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: some Problems

      Hi

      he gave the example of 55555 i changed it to other number and the port was available when i checked using Utorrent.

      What do u mean by

      Are you sure the tracker is connecting properly?

      when i downloading anything, in the properties the tracker adress flashes (like it goes and comes back every half a second i guess.)

      Every torrent i choose i check the seeds before dowloading, i am sure the Seeds are not the problem.

      After resettigng the results are:

      Connection Speed 3296 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 13.0 db

      But i know it changes every now and then, it has gone up to 3500 kbps.

      what bug are you talking about? is there any way of fixing it???

      Looking forward to your reply.

      thanks

    8. #7
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: some Problems

      It says in uTorrent 'tracker status'. If it is stuck on connecting or has timed out then this is why the speeds are bad. I think when it is working it says 'working'. A stab in the dark, but have you got encryption turned on? I have mine on forced

      The bug is not a bug that will affect you, it just shows the line attenuation wrong. Where before it said 15.5 it now says 48.0. Line attenuation never changes, or if it does only in small amounts.

      Based on your line attenuation you may be able to get a higher connection speed. To find out your true speed your need to have your router connected up to your master socket (if you have a master socket that is in two sections remove the lower half and plug into the test socket).

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION