Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Captain Slow reporting ...

    This is a discussion on Captain Slow reporting ... within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Introduction: Having never used adsl before, I was persuaded by the promise of high speeds as well as a big ...

    1. #1
      Krikke's Avatar
      Krikke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Thamesmead
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Captain Slow reporting ...

      Introduction:

      Having never used adsl before, I was persuaded by the promise of high speeds as well as a big traffic allowance. I was a bit hesitant, having read all about all the problems people seem to have been facing, but decided to take up the offer as soon as it became available here. Ordering and delivery went smooth, which made me think all would go well.

      My connection was due to go live on 24/1 ... but nothing happened (I read to give it 3 extra working days, which I did) + I had forgotten to add in another microfilter on the line to the Sky TV box. Once that was in it still took several hours before I finally got the green light (just as I was on the phone to tech support).

      The problem:

      System Up Time 16:47:16
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 17080 22914 0 61 404 15:46:22
      LAN 10M/100M 1274 0 0 6 0 16:47:14
      WLAN 11M/54M 25631 19586 0 401 66 16:47:05


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 256 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 4.5 db 13.0 db

      I have an abysmally slow download speed ... of a mere 25Kb/s, although I can't really complain about my upload.

      Having read around a bit here, I decided to reboot the router in hope of it reconnecting on a better connection. It took several hours ... (even unplugged all the cables and plugged em back in) and just as I was hearing the first menu of tech support ... the green light came back on ... but the speeds were still the same ...

      Any suggestions ? It is a bit silly of paying for 16megabit/s and only getting a mere 25Kb ... I do not expect to get the full speed but I would think that a minimum of 4megabit is not too much to expect. I am a bit of a lay when it comes to DSL-lines, having used cable for the past 10 years.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Captain Slow reporting ...

      Have you tried plugging the router into the test socket behind the BT master socket faceplate?

    4. #3
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Captain Slow reporting ...

      try your test socket first, my router takes around 2-5 mins to go live

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Captain Slow reporting ...

      Last edited by reddwarfcrew; 04-02-07 at 12:04 PM.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Captain Slow reporting ...

      @krikkie Welcome to the forum

      Please note redwarfcrew's recommendation to use TCPoptimizer may address your low download speed. It will not address your low router connection speed.

      Your low router connection speed is very probably due to line noise. As you have been advised, you need to test this using the test socket behind your master socket (assuming you have an NTE5). See also the faceplate and cabling help forum.

      However, your mention of your connection taking several hours to come back after a reboot suggests you may have a serious problem which may not be a local noise issue.
      Last edited by Saturday; 04-02-07 at 12:22 PM.

    7. #6
      Krikke's Avatar
      Krikke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Thamesmead
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Captain Slow reporting ...

      Tried the optimiser ... didn't make a difference ... (it only makes a difference between the computer and the router doesn't it ?)

      I will try the test socket sometime soon ... may not have enough time to fiddle with that today.

      2-5 minutes wait before a connection comes isn't too bad ... it took 4-5 hours yesterday after I tried the reboot.

      Will report back once I have tried the test socket.

    8. #7
      Krikke's Avatar
      Krikke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Thamesmead
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Captain Slow reporting ...

      Here I am again ...

      I had to delay my attempt at fiddling with the connection socket because a rather large item of furniture was blocking it. Anyways now that it is weekend I decided to move some stuff about and head in there with my screwdriver...

      Surprise : I do not have a test socket ...

      I did decide to unplug everything else (sky tv box and the telephone) and to my surprise the router connected in 1 minute and my downspeed is now:

      System Up Time 00:16:27
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1181 1417 0 340 1116 00:13:55
      LAN 10M/100M 235 0 0 77 0 00:16:25
      WLAN 11M/54M 2255 1871 0 1347 405 00:16:16


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5248 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.5 db 13.0 db

      Any suggestions ? I am perfectly happy with this speed but I assume it will drop once i reconnect the other devices again ? Will test this now...

    9. #8
      Krikke's Avatar
      Krikke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Thamesmead
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Captain Slow reporting ...

      Deeply ashamed I have to admit: it was my own stupidity and lack of knowledge of adsl that caused it all ...

      I had not removed a filter on the socket that leads to the sky tv box, as it said "do not unplug" on it I decided to not unplug it and to plug the microfilter in that thingie ...

      Having now put the microfilter first and that other thingie in the microfilter seems to have fixed everything (touch wood!).

      Thanks to everyone for the help and tips though ! No doubt there will be other things that might need help again in the future.

    10. #9
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Captain Slow reporting ...

      This "do not unplug" "filter" - was it the double extention socket thingie sky fitted?

      looks a bit like this but with 2 sockets (closest I could find to the one I have)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION