Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Just connected is this about right? thanks :)

    This is a discussion on Just connected is this about right? thanks :) within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well just got connected to sky went active on 30th but just got router today! Can some one have a ...

    1. #1
      DIRTY HARRY's Avatar
      DIRTY HARRY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCCAF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Carnforth
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just connected is this about right? thanks :)

      Well just got connected to sky went active on 30th but just got router today!

      Can some one have a look at this at tell me if everything is ok and if there is any think i can do to improve my speed? Is it right i have to wait 10 days to the line settles? i am on connect.

      My speed test show

      Last Result:
      Download Speed: 1440 kbps (180 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 382 kbps (47.8 KB/sec transfer rate)

      but this has varied all night.

      do i need to reboot my router at any point? (does rebooting just mean turning off and then back on?)

      here are the router stats

      Thanks and a top forum by the way.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2112 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 4.3 9.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.9 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 2464 700
      Rate (Kbps): 2112 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 67(0) 15
      R: 16 8
      S: 2 8
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 67 15
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 8
      S: 2.2352 8.5000
      L: 544 128
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 34345 34343
      SFErr: 250 0
      RS: 1167746 291915
      RSCorr: 471107 106
      RSUnCorr: 558 0

      HEC: 194 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2906467 0
      Data Cells: 109191 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 137 0
      SES: 50 0
      UAS: 11 0
      Total time = 10 min 0 sec
      SF = 34345
      CRC = 250
      LOS = 70
      LOF = 0
      ES = 137
      Latest 1 day time = 10 min 0 sec
      SF = 34345
      CRC = 250
      LOS = 70
      LOF = 0
      ES = 137
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 0 sec
      SF = 34345


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Just connected is this about right? thanks :)

      Welcome to the forum

      Quote Originally Posted by DIRTY HARRY View Post
      Is it right i have to wait 10 days to the line settles? i am on connect.
      Yes.

      Quote Originally Posted by DIRTY HARRY View Post
      do i need to reboot my router at any point?
      No.

      Quote Originally Posted by DIRTY HARRY View Post
      here are the router stats
      And a little bit sad they are too I'm afraid. Your line is generating a high level of errors, though, to be honest, you're never going to get much better speed due to your attenuation.

      I'm guessing you are not connecting your router directly to your master socket and/or have other extensions in the house?

    4. #3
      DIRTY HARRY's Avatar
      DIRTY HARRY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCCAF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Carnforth
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just connected is this about right? thanks :)

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      I'm guessing you are not connecting your router directly to your master socket and/or have other extensions in the house?
      Thanks for the reply I know i have a long line and when i first moved to this house Tiscali said my line was only capable of 0.5 meg and then i changed to AOL and they said BT said the same my line is only capable of 0.5 meg but they would try me on 1meg and i was fine.

      BT checker says with ADSL MAX i should get 1.5meg or above does this sound right?

      I got connected to sky on Tuesday but did not get my router until today but before that i plugged my old router in and it gave me a lint attuention of 61db not 63 as it is showing now.

      I also tried muy old router in the test socket and i got a reading of about 3meg but the router kept cutting out (is this normal)

      Also you say i do not need to reboot the router but i have just read a sticky in this forum with a guide which says to do it every day for the first 10 days and then leave it for 3 days.

      thanks agin for your reply

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Just connected is this about right? thanks :)

      Yes your line is long and that makes any noise issues you have even more of a problem. Any improvements you can make can only be a good thing. You didn't respond to the extension question.

      No it's not normal for the router to cut out when connected to the test socket. However, as it was a non-Sky router, presumably without the correct username/password, then presumably you mean it would sync but not connect?

      I've seen several references to rebooting the router every day when in the Connect training period too. You'll also find posts saying that a daily reboot will actually prevent the line training from increasing your speed.

      Despite extensive reading I can find no technical documentation to justify either of these viewpoints and so far no-one has pointed me to any. If you or anyone else can explain in technical terms, preferably with references why rebooting once a day is a positive thing then I'd be happy to accept that.
      Last edited by Saturday; 02-02-07 at 10:38 AM.

    6. #5
      DIRTY HARRY's Avatar
      DIRTY HARRY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCCAF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Carnforth
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just connected is this about right? thanks :)

      hi thanks again for the replys

      Yes i do have 2 extensions

      main socket is in the hall downstairs and 1 extension in the front room were the router is plugged in and then another one in the bedroom upstairs.

      The only thing about plugging it in the test socket is that i dont have a mains plug near the socket . Would it effect it if i had a rj11 cable running from the test socket to the router?

      Ok i will leave the router and not reboot it each day.

      also aftert eh 10 day training period when my speed is set could i then put it into the test socket and the speed would reajust to the new speed?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Just connected is this about right? thanks :)

      To minimise noise and maximise connection speed you should avoid using extensions for your router and use the best possible filtering elsewhere.

      Many people find that fitting a replacement filtered faceplate to the master socket works wonders. However, if using an extension for the router this has to be unfiltered which rather reduces the effectiveness.

      A long RJ11 will almost certainly be better than an extension. A filtered faceplate and a long RJ11 should give pretty good results.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION