Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    My max speed or just capped

    This is a discussion on My max speed or just capped within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can one of you tech guys define whether I am capped and what I should max at. Many thank and ...

    1. #1
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My max speed or just capped

      Can one of you tech guys define whether I am capped and what I should max at.

      Many thank and great work troops


      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 42.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.6
      Max(Kbps): 9696 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 280530 280528
      SFErr: 12466 26
      RS: 38152192 2384488
      RSCorr: 11961359 70
      RSUnCorr: 13904 0

      HEC: 4421 20
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 91063827 0
      Data Cells: 845525 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2886 0
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 1 hours 19 min 56 sec
      SF = 280530
      CRC = 12466
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2886
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 19 min 56 sec
      SF = 280530
      CRC = 12466
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2886
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 56 sec
      SF = 17408
      CRC = 1575
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 291
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 4528
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 720
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 3742
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 768
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2235
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 811
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 382
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 292


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lowmans's Avatar
      lowmans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: werrington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      I'm no tech but from reading other threads with these stats in I would say you are capped.

      Your stats say:
      Max(Kbps): 9696 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768

      I assume this means that you MAX Kbps available on your line is 9696 Down & 1248 Up but you available is 8096 Down & 768 Up

      Also the mode is shown as G.DMT which has a max of 8096 Down & 768 Up.

      Don't understand the rest of the stats. Perhaps someone could post an explanation of what the stats mean.

    4. #3
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      I think it is capped but in my old house a few hundred yards aay i was getting over 10meg

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      You have been capped G.DMT is 8MB if you feel you should be getting higher speeds ie: ADSL2+ then call SkyBB TS and ask them to query it.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      Your router is reporting "Mode: G.DMT". This means you are limited to a connection speed of ~8000kbps.

      Sky allegedly do this when they see there are problems with your line. Looking further at your stats shows that it is indeed generating enormous numbers of errors. As an example, your errored seconds are not all that far off your total seconds and your CRC errors are 500 times what I would consider to be on the high side. I would be very surprised if you couldn't see the effects of this in your on-line experience.

      You probably have a very bad noise problem on your line and need to address this. See the cabling and faceplate help forum for ideas.

      If you solve your line problems you could expect a stable connection if/when uncapped of ~9,750kbps i.e. a little more than you have now.

    7. #6
      lowmans's Avatar
      lowmans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: werrington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      Would it possible for someone to put a FAQ on how to interpret these stats please
      Last edited by lowmans; 30-01-07 at 11:52 AM.

    8. #7
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      Maxing out at 833 KB/s but speedtests elsewhere show a lot slower

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      In case you missed it
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      .... generating enormous numbers of errors. As an example, your errored seconds are not all that far off your total seconds and your CRC errors are 500 times what I would consider to be on the high side. I would be very surprised if you couldn't see the effects of this in your on-line experience.
      Also you may find the stickies in my signature useful reading.

    10. #9
      LittleL's Avatar
      LittleL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      Evening guys,

      congrats to the site on its recent membership landmark, long may it continue!

      I guess my reason for posting is to ask for some advice with regards to my new sky broadband installation (Mid package).

      Been connected for nearly a week now, connection been very stable. However, it hasnt connected at speeds of which i was expecting. I've fitted an XTE-2005 and this hasn't done much. There are no other telephone extensions in the house.

      Find stats below...

      I understand that the attenuation is a little high, but might still expect just a bit more from the connection (maybe 2.5/3mbps). SNR seems comfortable, and does pass 10/11db as the night gets on.

      System Up Time 01:02:49
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 11239 12357 0 524 1699 01:00:51
      LAN 10M/100M 13330 12116 0 1834 601 01:02:47
      WLAN 54M 17 0 0 0 0 01:02:37


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1856 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 13.0 db



      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1856 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.8 13.0
      Attn(dB): 60.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.6 1.0
      Max(Kbps): 2112 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 1856 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 59(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 16
      D: 32 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 59 14
      M: 4 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.2666 17.0666
      L: 480 120
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 214072 214070
      SFErr: 94 0
      RS: 3639228 909797
      RSCorr: 11019 152
      RSUnCorr: 828 0

      HEC: 87 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 15930978 0
      Data Cells: 125434 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 127 0
      SES: 116 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 hours 1 min 6 sec
      SF = 214072
      CRC = 94
      LOS = 138
      LOF = 0
      ES = 127
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 1 min 6 sec
      SF = 214072
      CRC = 94
      LOS = 138
      LOF = 0
      ES = 127
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 6 sec
      SF = 3941
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 27
      LOS = 34
      LOF = 0
      ES = 32
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 25
      LOS = 30
      LOF = 0
      ES = 30
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 30
      LOF = 0
      ES = 30
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51340
      CRC = 23
      LOS = 34
      LOF = 0
      ES = 30

      Comments welcome...

      Thanks,

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: My max speed or just capped

      @littleL

      An attenuation of 60db is towards the limit for a stable ADSL service and will only allow a connection of up to ~3000kbps.

      You are connecting below this figure and this is likely due to line noise. I see you have a quality filtered faceplate fitted but even so your line errors are rather high. I wouldn't be surprised if this is what is holding your speed back.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION