Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

    This is a discussion on Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc. within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky say my line can only do 8meg at max, however line checkers etc say it should be 10-14meg, I ...

    1. #1
      jjwf's Avatar
      jjwf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      Sky say my line can only do 8meg at max, however line checkers etc say it should be 10-14meg, I know I am being capped but speaking with sky is like banging your head against a brick wall most of the time. I am not prepared to be capped for the next 10 months of my contract & have told sky if they do not sort it out then I will cancel everything (tv & broadband 64pm) & have BT put a new line to the house & go with BE next month & fight sky all the way if they try to get the last ten months payment from me.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7318 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 20.9 12.0
      Attn(dB): 32.0 17.3
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 7472 864
      Rate (Kbps): 7318 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 28(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 8 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 60 68
      B: 27 23
      M: 8 8
      T: 8 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.9750 7.7037
      L: 1920 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1912648 1912646
      SFErr: 16468 206
      RS: 126234830 16257491
      RSCorr: 1105977 1075
      RSUnCorr: 586001 0

      HEC: 13810 740
      OCD: 1114 0
      LCD: 2 0
      Total Cells: 529928089 55431639
      Data Cells: 1322265 279604
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 129331 48
      SES: 815 2
      UAS: 31 16
      Total time = 1 days 5 hours 49 min 58 sec
      SF = 22847537
      CRC = 423075
      LOS = 4260
      LOF = 0
      ES = 129331
      Latest 1 day time = 5 hours 49 min 58 sec
      SF = 1305220
      CRC = 1215
      LOS = 192
      LOF = 0
      ES = 125
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 58 sec
      SF = 18520
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55932
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5383318
      CRC = 173936
      LOS = 3480
      LOF = 0
      ES = 64942
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55995
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55933
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55933
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      I dont think you have been capped, You are still showing connected as ADSL2+?

      You have better stats then me;
      SNR (dB): 20.9 12.0
      Attn(dB): 32.0 17.3

      ***

      I happily sync @
      Connection Speed 12436 kbps 942 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 19.4 db

      Have you tried your master socket's test socket? Does that improve your stats?

    4. #3
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      also just a polite note, whilst no doubt your comments are slightly "heat of the moment" words, you will of signed a legally binding contract. Furthermore, the issue doesn't necessarily sound like it is your ISP's fault therefore not paying Sky is not only not solving the issue but could potentially see you in a worse situation than it seems like now. It could be for example that the exchange may not be the best, copper lines used could be poor. The wiring in your home (the most common case of poor connections) could be at fault.

      I would recommend that you test your connection by plugging your router directly into the test port on the master socket, this bypasses your internal wiring therefore giving you your "real speed", in most scenario's you'll find that you'll get a few thousand kbps faster (mine jumped from 2000 to 5000) meaning you need a new filtered faceplate to begin with from ADSL Nation and if your running your router from an extension prehaps new wiring all around including new filtered extensions.

      Having said all of the above, the speed your getting still puts mine to shame and is nothing to be ashamed of, but I know where your coming from, Sky cheese us all off from time to time

      Chris.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 13-01-07 at 01:08 AM. Reason: edited before Wheelie sees it

    5. #4
      jjwf's Avatar
      jjwf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      Guys I have tried the master socket & get 8196 & 764 up not much difference at all (infact this is what I normally sync at). Having had multiple conversations with sky tier 3 I have had it confirmed that I am being capped due to noise etc. Chris this is not a heat of the moment threat to leave as I have been discussing this matter with tier 3 since the middle of the November. I would like to see sky fight me for the remaining 10 months as their argument would not stand up in court as they are not providing the service I am paying for (I have all ready taken advice). I have also made a formal complaint to the ISPA & sky are even ignoring them. The next step will be to inform Otelo & then see what sky have to say. In the long run sky will be losing as customer of 17 years or so and about 770 per year because of the inability to do even easy things correctly.

    6. #5
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      If tier 3 have confirmed youre being capped - politley ask them to uncap.
      I did and now connect stabley at about 10500 - 12500

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      Yep! Ask them to uncap you and then say, Could you put it on ADSL2+ and leave it like that!

      Thats what I asked and thats what they did?

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      @jjwf

      Your stats do not show any classic signs of your connection being capped. Amongst other things, as Fibre says, your router is syncing with ADSL2+. If Sky have capped you then they have not used their normal method.

      What your stats do show however is a large number of transmission errors. Whilst there are many reasons for this, the most likely is a noisy line.

      You've been advised (again by Fibre) to compare the results with your test socket. You replied that you had tried your master socket with "not much difference at all".

      Please note that there is a world of difference between the two. The test socket can be found behind the faceplate of your master socket (assuming you have an NTE5). Using the test socket bypasses all likely sources of local interference, unlike the master socket.

      Please post before and after stats, ensuring that the two tests are done within a couple of minutes of each other to avoid noise margin variations.

      If you did indeed try your test socket but posted master socket then you have a different problem and if you let us know we can offer help to resolve this.

    9. #8
      jjwf's Avatar
      jjwf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      I have already asked 3 times & each time they say my line is not stable due to, to many errors etc.

    10. #9
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell what this means regarding capping etc.

      quote> I would like to see sky fight me for the remaining 10 months as their argument would not stand up in court as they are not providing the service I am paying for>

      Just wondering what part of the service theyre not supplying you with?
      it wouldnt be the 'up to' 16 meg speed would it?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION