Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Speed issues

    This is a discussion on Speed issues within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well even if someone was to sync at like 15000kbps? They wouldnt get that speed because of network overheads?...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Speed issues

      Well even if someone was to sync at like 15000kbps? They wouldnt get that speed because of network overheads?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed issues

      Ok, it's back to normal and still at 184KB/sec on every test going. I've obviously just got a bad connection.
      Last edited by Saturday; 13-01-07 at 04:15 PM.

    4. #13
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Speed issues

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Well even if someone was to sync at like 15000kbps? They wouldnt get that speed because of network overheads?
      Not really.

      If you were able to force a higher connection speed that was outside the connection's normal operating parameters then error levels would be very high meaning not just packets having to be resent but framing errors, loss of frame etc. To put it in simple terms, the signal would get lost in all the noise.

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Speed issues

      Quote Originally Posted by hellfire18 View Post
      I've obviously just got a bad connection.
      Probably.

      Your efforts would be better spent trying to remove noise from your local connection than playing with utilities that are likely to mess things up further.

    6. #15
      scully69's Avatar
      scully69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dagenham
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed issues

      @hellfire18

      you should be seeing around 8meg with your line att
      Last edited by Saturday; 13-01-07 at 05:04 PM. Reason: Removed full page quote

    7. #16
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed issues

      the entire internal wiring is ********. I'm just going to leave it for now I think, it goes quick enough for me anyway.

    8. #17
      chintz's Avatar
      chintz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Birmingham, UK
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed issues

      I think the messing with the internal wiring is great because I used to be able to get 5500kbps-6500kbps before I removed the ring wire. But now that I have removed the ring wire I am getting speeds of 7500kbps-8000kbps! I know that you are on Connect but it still helps!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION