Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    My connection stats

    This is a discussion on My connection stats within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 6016 kbps 768 kbps Line Attenuation 35.0 db 19.5 db Noise Margin 11.1 db ...

    1. #1
      ShadeX's Avatar
      ShadeX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My connection stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6016 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.1 db 13.0 db

      I phoned sky letting them know that im on the max package. They did a few checks on there system. They then told me that my line can only handle 256kbps. So are my router stats above wrong or has sky got something wrong. I told the sky engineer on the phone that my router is showing these stats he told me thats a bit wierd and theres nothing he can do to increase my speed.
      So basically im a bit confused on how fast my internet speed is. I ve tried a few internet speed websites the test results were around 2.5mbps - 3.2mbps.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Jinx! We have the same attenuation!

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12793 kbps 950 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 8.0 db

      So based on attenuation, It shows you could be able to go faster? So, You could try testing with your mastersockets test socket?

    4. #3
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @Shadex Your Noise margin seems rather high, perhaps reducing that with the utility available via this forum may help your speeds. Set it to around 7db.

      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

    5. #4
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      It may be that Sky have capped you?

    6. #5
      ShadeX's Avatar
      ShadeX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @FibreOptic ive pluged it in the master test socket and there was no change in the connection speed, the line Line Attenuation stayed the same, the noise margin had increased a bit.

      @ Disillusioned my noise margin has recently gone down to about 7.5db for some reason.


      The only thing i still do not understand is that sky told me that my line can only handle 256kbps but my router shows that im getting a consistent 6meg connection

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      The fact that your connection speed stayed the same and your noise margin increased strongly suggests that your connection has been capped by Sky for some reason.

      To get an understanding of the relationship between attenuation, speed and noise see here.

      If you are getting significantly slower download speeds than your router connection speed then it could be your TCP/IP settings need adjustment. See here.

      I'm afraid your experience has shown that sometimes you get pure nonsense from Sky - cynically you'd almost think they make things up for a joke. Your line can clearly handle more than 256kbps as can 99.9% of lines that are ADSL capable. In fact, providing you do a little work to improve your line noise, with your attenuation 14000kbps could be achievable.

      Read through the links I've suggested, make any changes you see fit to improve your connection then get back to Sky and ask them what's going on and that you want your connection uncapped.

    8. #7
      ShadeX's Avatar
      ShadeX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My noise margin is at 7db doesnt that mean i have a low noise margin so therefore my connection speed would be faster or have i got this noise margin all wrong?

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      No 7db is not a low noise margin. The Sky router, in most circumstances will always negotiate the highest possible speed at a noise margin of 6.9db. So the vast majority of people will find their noise margin to be ~7db whenever they reboot or power up their router.

      You do however need to ensure that your noise margin doesn't drop too much lower than this though.

      As I suggested before, read this for more info.

    10. #9
      ShadeX's Avatar
      ShadeX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My noise margin seems to be improving

      6016 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.4 db 14.0 db

      I phoned sky to tell them to take the cap of my broadband. They said i have to give it a few weeks as ive only had sky bb for about 5days.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      It would be really helpful if you'd read the link given (2 times now) then you might understand why noise margin changes.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION