Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Can You Check My Stats?

    This is a discussion on Can You Check My Stats? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Here are my stats, I have just migrated to the Sky MAX product and I am 1.43km from the exchange ...

    1. #1
      bobbyrabbit's Avatar
      bobbyrabbit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham, Carfax
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Horsham
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can You Check My Stats?

      Here are my stats, I have just migrated to the Sky MAX product and I am 1.43km from the exchange (Samknows):

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 40.0 24.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.3
      Max(Kbps): 9056 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768

      These are the stats when plugged directly to the master. I was expecting a little higher on the down sync as I was getting around the 7616 on IPstream. I've also noted my Down Attn has dropped from 38db to 40db. Have I been capped?
      Last edited by bobbyrabbit; 30-12-06 at 10:47 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Yes it does rather look like you have a speed cap in place. There are several clues to this:
      • You are showing as G.DMT and this appears to be the norm after Sky cap a connection
      • Your connection speed is 8096kbps (a typical 8meg cap figure)
      • You could expect a connection of up to ~12000kbps with your attenuation


      A small shift in attenuation when moving ADSL modes is entirely normal.

    4. #3
      bobbyrabbit's Avatar
      bobbyrabbit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham, Carfax
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Horsham
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for your reply Saturday.

      These are my current stats:

      Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7200 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.0 db 24.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.3 db 14.0 db

      The Downstream Attn wasn't this low on IPstream. Do you think its worth contacting Sky, if so is there a freephone number I can use.

      Thanks

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Those stats are worse than last time - probably because they were done at different times of day.

      I'm still fairly certain that Sky have capped your connection (hence the G.DMT) but I suspect you have unresolved noise problems.

      Can you post a set of stats comparing plugged into the master socket and plugged into the test socket which you'll find behind the faceplate of your master socket (assuming you have an NTE5)? You need to do these within a couple of minutes of each other to minimise the effects of any line noise change.

      As I said before, your attenuation will always differ when you change ADSL mode.

    6. #5
      bobbyrabbit's Avatar
      bobbyrabbit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham, Carfax
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Horsham
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      You're correct Saturday, the last set of stats were done in the early evening and are considerably worse, but that is expected. I am also connected to the master socket at all times using an old V1.0 BT Faceplate and ringwire is not connected on master and all extensions.

      I'm just a little confused why Sky do not immediately put MAX customers on ADSL2+. I appreciate that this system will not work too reliably on many household telephone systems with really bad stats, so do you think SKY cap customers to cut down the amount of support calls about dropped ADSL connections.

      To be honest a very high percentage of customers would not have a clue or care if they were on G:dMT or ADSL2+, as long as their broadband connection was reliable and their download speeds improved a little.

      I was just hoping that the SKY MAX system would be a slight improvement on IPStream Max. I know my stats are not superb and I am probably further away than the 1.44km quoted on samknows, but being capped is a little disappointing, especially when my line could probably cope with a little more.

    7. #6
      bobbyrabbit's Avatar
      bobbyrabbit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham, Carfax
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Horsham
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well, I actually called support and asked about this. The guy I spoke to said I was 2.1km from the exchange and was lucky to be getting the download speeds I had.

      When I said I was on the same download speed as I was when on IPStream Max, he said that due to my local exchange (Carfax, Horsham) not having the facilities for ADSL2+ I am at my maximum speed possible. He said the exchange may be upgraded in time!! I kind of left it there.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      I'm sure you're familiar with the phrase "fobbed off"?

      Yes, your attenuation shows you are some way from the exchange (more like 2.75km by my calculation but that's no problem). As for lucky to get those speeds - well my attenuation is barely less than yours and I connect comfortably at ~12500kbps. So do many others on the forum.

      As for the exchange not having ADSL2+ that seems to be being rolled out as an excuse more and more these days. Doesn't make any sense to me:
      • so no-one in Horsham has ADSL2+?
      • they ran out of the right bits of equipment?


      Whilst they may well (and do) run out of rack space, a card is a card. I find it hard to believe that Sky have purchased non ADSL2+ capable equipment.

      I can believe though that in certain exchanges they have inadequate internet backbone so are using this as an excuse and knocking down peoples speed to save bandwidth.

    9. #8
      Adam PV's Avatar
      Adam PV is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can You Check My Stats?

      Hi, brand new user today. Feeling rather disappointed given my connections status:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1088 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 12.0 db

    10. #9
      antwigan's Avatar
      antwigan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRLFC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Gods Country WIGAN
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can You Check My Stats?

      i'm getting top speed, 15mb/sec!! I am 1.3ish from 'base'. I really cant understand why others at the same distance away are getting 8/6mb etc! Whats goin on!!


      They'll never change us. God help those who try.

      Rugby League, never Rugby Union. Fight the Bigots.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION