Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps?

    This is a discussion on Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm supposedly on the MAX package but, since I was first connected, Netgear Gateway shows my connection speed as ...

    1. #1
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps?

      Hi, I'm supposedly on the MAX package but, since I was first connected, Netgear Gateway shows my connection speed as 8096 kbps. I phoned Sky a couple of days after connection and after getting me to read my statistics

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 13.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.4 db 14.0 db

      technical support said I should be able to get better as I was only 400m from exchange and that he would report it and it should be sorted within 5 days. Anyway, phones back (11 days later) today and some guy puts me on hold while he "checks the line for max speed" (wonder why the first guy didn't do that). Comes back 5 mins later and tells me because it's an old line 8096 kbps is all it supports. He said the lines were being upgraded within a year and I'd probably get better after that. I said there's no point on me being on the max package and he suggested I drop to the mid and offered to change it for me there and then. I told him I'd leave it for now as I was hoping one of you guys could tell me whether he's bullsh1tting me. I'm beginning to wonder if I am on ADSL2. Are sky just sticking in standard ADSL equipment and hoping you won't complain?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Looks asif you have been put on Standard ADSL! Not ADSL2 like you should have been!

      Maybe you should ask to speak to Tier3 who can switch you over to ADSL2 in a matter of moments?

      Have you tried the Utility in the TechForum to see what MODE your router reports?

      Also judging that you have a nice line, I dont se why you shouldnt see a potential connection of 14-16mb!

    4. #3
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      You have the Max upload so it seems you are on Max, what exchange are you on?
      Last edited by hugsie; 27-12-06 at 02:27 PM.

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      The upload on MaxDSL is 832? Isnt it?

    6. #5
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...-packages.html

      For the sky packages mid and base are upto 400Kb

    7. #6
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks FibreOptic. Do you mean the 'Sky Netgear DG834GT Utility version 0.4'? If so, I see a 'select mode' option but, I'm not sure what I'm meant to do?

      hugsie, I'm on the Scotstoun (Glasgow) exchange.

    8. #7
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Tom, what exchange are you on?

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      @tomtom, Select "Get Detailed..." click it.. Input the username and password.. Then Click Back till you get to that page, and click "download" at the bottom and open that file with notepad!

      Then copy&paste that here!

      @hugsie, My upload on max is 950 kbps?

      Last edited by Keiran2K8; 27-12-06 at 03:09 PM.

    10. #9
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Lucky You!!!!

    11. #10
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Geeeze Fibre, your's goes up far faster than mine comes down
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION