Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps?

    This is a discussion on Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As this thread was moving away from the original purpose and was becoming more of a technical discussion I've moved ...

    1. #21
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      As this thread was moving away from the original purpose and was becoming more of a technical discussion I've moved the last few posts to a new thread in the Tech forum.
      Last edited by Saturday; 28-12-06 at 01:06 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Finally received a call from Sky today. Was told (for the 4th time) that the max speed my line can handle is 2.6 mbps and it must be down to the condition of the line. When I told them (for the 4th time) I was already getting over 6 mbps, and that my distance from the exchange / Line Attenuation and Noise Margin suggested I should be able to acheive nearer 16 mbps, this particular chancer told me I was lucky. I've contacted the ISPA as it's clear I cannot expect anything from sky customer services apart from the standard fob offs.

    4. #23
      ShadeX's Avatar
      ShadeX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @tomtom

      SKY keeps telling me the same thing. They say my line can only handle 256kbps but for some reason im getting over 6 mbps. They said they will monitor my connection if it stays stable for a couple of weeks they will take the cap off my bb and put me on adsl2+.

    5. #24
      Roach's Avatar
      Roach is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I got them to take my cap off and saw a slight improvement in speeds, but it's been turned back on again despite me being told I would stay on ADSL2 from now on. GRRR!!!

    6. #25
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps?

      The complaint to the ISPA finally brought a bit of movement and I had a call from them this morning. My stats are now

      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 21.5 db 11.8 db
      Noise Margin 14.3 db 12.5 db

      although according to my regular speedtest I'm getting a dissapointing 9.8 mbps through both wired and wireless connection.

      Stats using the utility :-

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 766 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.4 12.5
      Attn(dB): 21.5 11.8
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 19780 884
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 766
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 124
      B: 238 13
      M: 1 16
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 8.6877
      L: 4096 221
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 66028 66026
      SFErr: 15 1
      RS: 8583730 280610
      RSCorr: 17489 0
      RSUnCorr: 23 0

      HEC: 11 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 38646835 1904089
      Data Cells: 269120 85816
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 10 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 93
      Total time = 18 min 8 sec
      SF = 66028
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10
      Latest 1 day time = 18 min 8 sec
      SF = 66028
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 8 sec
      SF = 11674
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54354
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    7. #26
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps?

      You could try running the TCP optimiser.

    8. #27
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps?

      I already did that hugsie. In fact, without it, I was only getting 3.6 mbps.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION