Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps?

    This is a discussion on Only 400m from exchange but sky say max speed is 8mbps? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hugsie, Scotstoun exchange (Glasgow) just in case you missed it earlier. FibreOptic, is this what you mean? /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver ...

    1. #11
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hugsie, Scotstoun exchange (Glasgow) just in case you missed it earlier.

      FibreOptic, is this what you mean?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 15.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 18.0 13.0
      Pwr(dBm): 18.6 7.2
      Max(Kbps): 11584 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1016381 1016379
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 138227884 8639221
      RSCorr: 0 182
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 329927593 0
      Data Cells: 727665 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 43 0
      Total time = 4 hours 48 min 56 sec
      SF = 1016381
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 48 min 56 sec
      SF = 1016381
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 56 sec
      SF = 13880
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52871
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Mode: G.DMT
      Youv been put only basic adsl! Not ADSL2

    4. #13
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks FibreOptic. That's what I was suspiscious about. When the guy told me they'd be upgrading the lines within the next year it sounded a bit dodgy to me and I was half hearing "when we get round to installing ADSL2". Is there any specific reason why they'd do this (e.g. shortage of equipment) and, given I've been fobbed off by them already, any idea what my best course of action is.

    5. #14
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Ask to speak to the customer relations manager! And explain to them your going to inform Ofcom!

      As this is BANG out of order? What did it say on your connection letter, MAX or Mid?

    6. #15
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I've no longer got the letter but I'm pretty sure I'd have noticed if it had said anything less. Both people I've spoke to in tech support have stated I'm on max. Thanks for your help.

    7. #16
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      no worries..mate! keep us updated on what happens!

    8. #17
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just phoned them again (fortunately on the freephone number 0800 051 2595 I got from here) and a girl went through the full list of standard fob offs. I asked here why the test showed mode G.DMT. She went off to ask her supervisor and he told here it was some kind of auto set and that it should return ADSL2 when that was available (meaning at certain times of the day - not when they decide to install it). I didn't know enough about it to dispute it but I did say if it wasn't rectified the ispa or oftel was my next port of call. Anyway, in the end up she gave me a ticket # and passed the problem on to tier 3 who she said would phone within the next 2-5 days.

    9. #18
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Hi tomtom, looks like you have your answer, I had misunderstood you earlier and was going to check the exchange on samknows to see if there was any info there that could help!

      I hope Tier 3 can help you out! I would email customer services and ask for a written explanation. It is harder for them to fob you off with inaccuracies in writing!

    10. #19
      Roach's Avatar
      Roach is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi, I just registered after getting SKY Max installed in the past few days. I am also on the Scotstoun exchange and was told I could get up to 16Mbps on my line. I get that G.DMT thing from the NetGear Utility and I also am limited to 8096k downstream. I am going to call SKY to complain about my speed so hopefully that will help us both.

      I am new to ADSL though as I always had NTL before so a lot of this stuff is new to me. Can any one tell me what speeds I should be able to get (up and down) based on the info below?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.1 db 14.0 db

    11. #20
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION