Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    New Sky user with slow download speed.

    This is a discussion on New Sky user with slow download speed. within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, i'm new to sky broadband, only got it today. Having trouble with my download speed though. The most i ...

    1. #1
      Un1eash's Avatar
      Un1eash Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      New Sky user with slow download speed.

      Hi, i'm new to sky broadband, only got it today. Having trouble with my download speed though. The most i can get is 618 kbps download and 373 kbps upload.

      I have a Netgear router which shows: -
      DownStream Connection Speed 4320 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps

      And i am using a belkin wireless usb G adapter (7050)
      My usb adapter has good signal strength but wont go above 11mbps.

      Something cant be right, i plan to test the router with a wired laptop 2moro to see if i can get anywhere near 4320 kbps.

      One last thing, i did get a letter saying i wouldnt be connected till the new year, could this be why i'm gettin slow speeds for now?

      Thanks in advance for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sirsilver's Avatar
      sirsilver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chorlton
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just out of curiousity what are your line stats? intresting to see what your speed is when you connect via ethernet
      Last edited by sirsilver; 24-12-06 at 07:04 PM.

    4. #3
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I agree, the first thing to try is to ditch the wireless if you want to get a good idea of your correct connection speed.

    5. #4
      bobthebaptist's Avatar
      bobthebaptist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rawtenstall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Same problem - Any ideas please?

      I got connected yesterday - or at least I managed to log in to set up e-mail accounts. So now I want to use the Sky Max package to full potential.
      I am on Rawtenstall exchange - 3.72km from exchange.
      The stats are here:
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7 7 0 3 4 00:01:23
      LAN 10M/100M 72 0 0 86 0 00:02:14
      WLAN 11M/54M 212 193 0 625 213 00:02:04

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 896 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db


      I was under the impression that I should get between 2.0 - 4.0 Mbps (as I did on my NTL 4Mb package)
      Is this realistic or am I wasting my time?

      I have some knowledge but I am certainly not an expert and I have tried reading through earlier posts to get info.

      Please help a Newbie

      Regards

      Bob

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      You almost certainly have a noise problem on your line and may also have had your connection speed capped by Sky.

      Please post your before and after stats by using the test socket which you'll find behind the faceplate of your master socket (assuming you have an NTE5). Do the two tests within a couple of minutes of each other if possible.

    7. #6
      sparkey's Avatar
      sparkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01834
      Broadband ISP: BT ADSL2+
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Tenby
      Posts
      354
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Saturday could you have a look at this connection please as reading forums your clued up on these things.

      Connect speeds is 8128kbps ........... upspeed is 448kbps
      Line attenuation is 16db.....................................12.0 dp
      noise magain 15.3db..........................................22 .0 db

      Have run a speed test on dslzone uk but i'm only getting 6211kbps is that any good noise doesn't vary by much on download highest it has been is 16db.The uploads speed stays the same on all figures by the way i'm on 8mb connect and only 550m from exchange

    8. #7
      bobthebaptist's Avatar
      bobthebaptist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rawtenstall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Many thanks Saturday. Here are my Stats - I had to take stuff downstairs to get to the Master!

      29/12/2006 23.10
      Direct to BT plug behind Master faceplate
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 97 92 0 55 687 00:02:24
      LAN 10M/100M 61 0 0 42 0 00:03:49
      WLAN 11M/54M 304 312 0 885 171 00:03:39

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1984 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 14.0 db

      To front of BT Master Faceplate
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 185 151 0 136 215 00:09:48
      LAN 10M/100M 150 0 0 33 0 00:12:13
      WLAN 11M/54M 596 557 0 377 184 00:12:03

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 896 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.8 db 14.0 db

      It looks to me as though I need to get BT to relocate my Master Socket as my first move.
      Please advise

      regards

      Bob Edwards

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      @sparkey

      Your stats are fine for Connect. On a good speedtest server with your PC properly set up you could expect a download speed of ~7000kbps which is a little more than you are seeing.

      There are several possible reasons for this:


      Please note that download speeds may only be ~85% of connection speed due to transmission overheads.

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      @bobthebaptist

      Well your test socket results show the sort of benefit you'd get from fitting a quality replacement filtered faceplate to your current master socket. You can easily do this yourself - 5 min and <15.

      If you'd like to be able to plug your router into the mater socket (a very good idea) then you have at least three options:
      • buy a long RJ11 cable (the one that connects the router to the phone socket). You can get up to 25m quite easily and the cost will be approx 10
      • You could run a dedicated unfiltered extension from your filtered master socket at a cost of ~20
      • You could get BT to move your master socket - my guess is they would charge 85 to 145 for this plus the cost of a filtered faceplate.


      Whichever route you choose, when you've got it sorted, give Sky a call as it looks as though your connection may have a speed cap on it.
      Last edited by Saturday; 31-12-06 at 07:27 PM.

    11. #10
      bobthebaptist's Avatar
      bobthebaptist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rawtenstall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Saturday
      I guess the best route to take would be the replacement faceplate and then add a dedicated unfiltered extension up to my office. I would prefer that this was hard wired rather than have to trail a RJ11 cable.
      So am I correct in thinking I need an XTE-2005 faceplate (plus IDC tool) and connect via Cat 5e (6?) cable to a XTF Socket. This would then give me two optimum ADSl 2+ connections and two telephone sockets without the need for dangling seperate micro-filters?

      Regards

      Bob

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION