Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Help, How do i improve this..

    This is a discussion on Help, How do i improve this.. within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi there i got sky broadband max a few days ago and after a little fiddling got a speed of ...

    1. #1
      sumitk87's Avatar
      sumitk87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greenford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help, How do i improve this..

      hi there
      i got sky broadband max a few days ago and after a little fiddling got a speed of 12mbps.

      i kno the speed tests are not accurate so im not bothered why i only get 8-9mbps.

      BUT i used it as benchmark.... when i connect directly with ethernet cable i get 8-10mbps and download at about 800-1000kbps atleast (from a good site). but when i connect use the wireless the speed test shows a max of 4mbps and downloads are about 300-400. one of my computers is 3metres away from the router and the other is is about 6metres.

      the wireless utility shows signal strength as excellent (max bars) and the full 54mbps. So where is the bottleneck? my adapters are belkin 54g ones btw.

      Thanks

      Sumit


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      What channel is the wireless on your router?
      Try Auto 108Mb?

    4. #3
      sumitk87's Avatar
      sumitk87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greenford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yea it is on 108 auto so it automtically selects channel 6.

    5. #4
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      54 mb is more than enough to handle a 10mb connection.

      try a different channel number, one of your close neigbors may be using 6 which is causing interference as your router has to discard all their packets and it may be slowing you up.

    6. #5
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      long shot, but have you checked the belkin 'flash' help, and updated drivers etc
      Networking

    7. #6
      sumitk87's Avatar
      sumitk87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greenford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yea ok ill try changing the channel and updating drivers. Does it matter if im using the netgear router with belkin adaptors?

      also why does the netgear only have one arial, my belkin had two.. i didnt think it was the hardware before cos if im getting excellent signal strength and speeds.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION