Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    complete novice here help needed

    This is a discussion on complete novice here help needed within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; sorry to be a pain but alot of what is said on here is going over my head . i ...

    1. #1
      dantheman144's Avatar
      dantheman144 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      complete novice here help needed

      sorry to be a pain but alot of what is said on here is going over my head . i just found this site because i was expecting much higher speeds. i did the tests and got this

      Connection Speed 352 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.5 db 13.0 db
      im on max 16 mb

      any suggestions anyone?
      in very simple terms would be nice lol cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pejay's Avatar
      pejay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bedford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bedfordshire
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome mate your question is not in my league but belive me this is the correct place to be for answers to question like yours.
      hAS ANYONE SEEN MY cAPSLOCK KEY?

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
      That is a poor connection speed indeed!! Although your noise margin is quite low, I believe if falls below 5 or 6 you are likely to lose connection. Are you a long long way from the exchange? Did Sky give you any indication what speed to expect? If not I would call them for some answers.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      @dantheman144

      Just to make sure it's not just a temporary glitch have you rebooted the router?

      If you have and are still syncing at such a low speed (with your attenuation you could expect up to 5500kbps) then as Koala5 says, you need to contact Sky. If/when you do, don't be fobbed off

    6. #5
      dantheman144's Avatar
      dantheman144 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      cheers chaps
      is rebooting just a question of turning it on and off again?
      i followed some of the suggestions on this site yesterday (the tcp optimiser) and its actually got slower, ie webpages get stuck and take longer to open than my dial up also some need refreshing loads of times b4 they open.

      however the router test stil give the same speeds.

      gonna call sky , anyone know the best number to get hold of them?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dantheman144 View Post
      is rebooting just a question of turning it on and off again?
      Yes. Or you can do it from the router admin pages. Might also be worth trying a reset (pinhole in back of router pushed in for 1 second).

    8. #7
      Bluejak's Avatar
      Bluejak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I share your pain, T3 have suggested I cancel and go to BT. The best number to get Technical Support on is 0800 051 2595 its a free phone number that can be a bit hit or miss but if you're hoping to work through your speed issue you might be calling them alot.

      Good luck!

    9. #8
      limegreenninja's Avatar
      limegreenninja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Poole, Dorset
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      GO to dslzoneuk.net and near the top right you will see 'We Recommend'. GO to 'Improve your speed' and DO what is shown to you there.

      I was having crap speeds like yours until i did this removal of unecessary wires in the phone sockets.

      The only wires you need in are 2 and 5.

      My speeds went from 200-300kbps to and average of 3000kbps now.

      Good luck m8, Merry Christmas and happy surfing!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION