Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    Just plugged in and my speed :(

    This is a discussion on Just plugged in and my speed :( within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Newer isn't better unless it offers you something you don't already have. it won't give you higher downstream speed it ...

    1. #21
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      Newer isn't better unless it offers you something you don't already have.
      • it won't give you higher downstream speed
      • it won't give you higher upstream speed
      • it won't give you a more stable connection


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      metalhead72's Avatar
      metalhead72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      ok cheers for replys...i can get around 6mb on a good day...far better than my 1.7 mb before..should be greatfull i suppose

    4. #23
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      Well if you don't need the "unlimited" download limit of Max or the higher upstream speed you always move to Mid and get in effect the same service for only 5 a month.

    5. #24
      metalhead72's Avatar
      metalhead72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      tbh for just a tenner and to leave it unlimited so to speak i think il leave as is...is it routine for sky to put ppl on g.dmt if their attenuation is poor like mine or is it just a balls up on their behalf...

    6. #25
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      If customers complain of poor connections then Sky often simply cap their connection (it's lazy and brutal but can be effective). In those instances the router will report the connection as being G.DMT, however, that does not mean that the mode has changed to ADSL1 (the transmission characteristics don't match). I believe it is just misreporting by the router.

      There is no good reason to put someone on G.DMT, or more accurately not on uncapped ADSL2+, because they have any particular attenuation figure.

      No, there's nothing "poor" about your attenuation, it is well within the spec for a stable ADSL2+ service.. Attenuation is largely an indication of the length of your line.

      That said, as I commented earlier, you have a pretty good connection and you have not been negatively affected by the mode they have put you on.

    7. #26
      jimmy2bob's Avatar
      jimmy2bob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Dewsbury
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      my thread has been hijacked!!

    8. #27
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      "Thread hijacking is the act of trying to steer a web forum discussion thread off topic by discussing a subject entirely unrelated to the subject at hand".

      Tel33 posted a query very similar to yours. Metalhead72 posted his problem as a result of a response to tel33. I don't believe that could reasonably be construed as hijacking.

      PS. I posted a lengthy reply to your last post 2 days ago - you didn't bother to respond.

    9. #28
      tel33's Avatar
      tel33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horndean
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      Hi Saturday

      I had a nice conversation with two Sky people today, held for a total of 40 mins each, 20 per person, the first could not give me an answer to my question of why I was on 8000kbps and not higher even though I have a good enough line to do so and admitted he did not know what I was talking about (Technical stuff and all that) so he put me through to tech support who also had no idea what I was saying and just kept saying that I was not capped, even though my figures never go over 8096kbps and a friend round the corner gets 14000kbps on his line and he is only 40 feet away, so I pressed on even more, poor chap, I think I could hear his brain going into meltdown with the tech jargon etc that I was spouting ,anyway, I told him I was not on ADSL+2 he said no one on Sky is on ADSL+2, I argued the point that ADSL1 only goes to around 8000kbps and that G. DMT is ADSL1 and not ADSL+2, then he told me I was on ADSL+2, until I pointed out that the router was telling me otherwise and it went on from there.

      Finally after more wating while he checked with another person, he admtted to me that I was not on ADSL+2 and he would get the tech guys to contact me, I am holding my breath on this.

      Just to let you know it was a freephone number I called 0800 0512 595 so the call cost nothing and that made me feel alot better.

      Cheers all
      tel33
      Last edited by tel33; 13-02-07 at 06:05 PM.

    10. #29
      tel33's Avatar
      tel33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horndean
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      Hi all
      Just like to update you on my Sky experience.

      I am now sometimes pushing 13mb!

      It seems as though talking to Sky has made them sort out my connection speed properly, I was capped at 8mb and now am on around 13mb (Slightly faster sometimes), tier 3 did not contact me at all (No suprise there) but I suddenly found my program downloads were going like lightning so I did a quick speed check at Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed and the results are as follows.

      1st Test
      Download Speed: 12878 kbps (1609.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 460 kbps (57.5 KB/sec transfer rate)

      2nd Test
      Download Speed: 12891 kbps (1611.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 462 kbps (57.8 KB/sec transfer rate)

      3rd Test
      Download Speed: 13046 kbps (1630.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 461 kbps (57.6 KB/sec transfer rate)

      As you can see its a consistant rate which is good but the upload could be quicker but I am not too worried about that.

      I dont think I am having problems with the router connection and I dont think it has dropped the line at all whilst I have been using it although I do think I have errors but I cannot tell which one it is below, maybe someone can help me and tell me what I am fully looking at below?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15513 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 34.5 17.9
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15800 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15513 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 247(0) 24
      R: 8 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 57 68
      B: 246 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 8 16
      S: 0.5084 7.7037
      L: 4012 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 37705334 37705332
      SFErr: 475649 1
      RS: 455904898 320495322
      RSCorr: 2850439199 371
      RSUnCorr: 2737919 0

      HEC: 363613 0
      OCD: 38 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 618649376 1088616591
      Data Cells: 7293296 2022379
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 57391 1
      SES: 8717 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 1 days 23 hours 46 min 3 sec
      SF = 37705334
      CRC = 475649
      LOS = 1242
      LOF = 0
      ES = 57391
      Latest 1 day time = 23 hours 46 min 3 sec
      SF = 5341881
      CRC = 101911
      LOS = 190
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15828
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 3 sec
      SF = 3932
      CRC = 39
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 32
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56179
      CRC = 648
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 427
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5394065
      CRC = 23180
      LOS = 128
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4050
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56179
      CRC = 750
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 452
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56179
      CRC = 648
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 435
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56179
      CRC = 716
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 491

      I can see from this that the modem is not connecting as fast as it has been and I will reboot the router to see it it get better as it has not been rebooted for a couple of days, I will let you know the results

      I have used TCP Optimiser and that did increase the speed.

      Never give up chasing that speed!

      Cheers

      tel33
      Last edited by tel33; 13-02-07 at 06:04 PM.

    11. #30
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Just plugged in and my speed :(

      Good news you got your line uncapped.

      The bad news though is that it is now generating a very high number of errors e.g. you're getting 50% errored seconds in some periods

      Assuming you've done all you can to reduce noise your side of the circuit (e.g. plugged directly into a master socket with filtered faceplate - not via an extension) then I'd strongly advise you to push your noise margin up to somewhere around 9 or 10db. You'll find this will decrease your connection speed and of course your download speed but less so for the latter as there will be fewer retransmissions needed. What you will have is a much better/more stable connection as, if you haven't seen problems so far, with those line errors I think you soon will.

      HTH

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION