Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Changing Connection Downstream and Upstream Speeds

    This is a discussion on Changing Connection Downstream and Upstream Speeds within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is there any way to change the download and upload speeds on the router manually? My settings are : Port ...

    1. #1
      ProPlaya2005's Avatar
      ProPlaya2005 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Changing Connection Downstream and Upstream Speeds

      Is there any way to change the download and upload speeds on the router manually? My settings are :

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 108610 121149 0 780 4189 04:34:08
      LAN 10M/100M 131874 116060 0 4590 969 04:34:53
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 3124 1765 0 38 12 04:34:43


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13.0 db 11.0 db
      Noise Margin 13.5 db 14.0 db



      I was wondering what should the maxium download and upload speed be because I have Sky Max and it should be 16megabits but it seems more like 8. If anyone else has a higher one could you please tell me how you did it and what speeds that you normally download at. Sometimes I can download at 800kb/s. I am not far from the exchange (328m) so that is why I am asking. Is this also the maximum upload speed.

      Thanks very much


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      You've certainly not been put on Max - looks like Mid to me, though I would have thought your noise margin would be a little higher with such a fabulous attenuation..

      How long have you been connected? The best thing to do is call Sky and get this sorted.

    4. #3
      ProPlaya2005's Avatar
      ProPlaya2005 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for such a quick reply. If I was on Sky MAX what should my downstream and upstream be so that I can tell them. With my attenuation being 13.0, what do you think my noise margin should be so I can tell them that also. Is there any way I could change any of these or is it a job for Sky. If you are using Sky MAX I would appreciate it if you could tell me what your downstream and upstream are so I can compare and how many kbs you download and upload at.

      Many thanks
      Michael

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      On MAX could be:

      Connection Speed anything from 8096 to 16000 kbps 768 kbps
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Remember the MAX Service just like the others is UPTO 16Mb, 16Mb isnt garunteed!

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      With Max downstream is up to ~16000kbps and upstream ~768kbps.

      The up to part is determined principally by your attenuation and then by any noise on your line. Your attenuation is fantastic so I would expect you to connect at around the max possible. As an example, my attenuation is 38db and I can comfortably connect at ~13000kbps.

      Read this for more info on attenuation/noise margin and connection speed..

      There seem to have been a number of people recently reporting that they have been connected at what appears to be an artificially low level i.e. Sky has capped them. Often this is accompanied by a lower upstream of 416kbps - not in your case.

      There are ways for you to make changes to your noise margin which will have a direct affect on your connection speed. That's not for you because I suspect Sky have set your maximum downstream at 8096kbps for some reason. Playing with the noise margin probably won't help.

      Call Sky to get it sorted. Good luck.

    8. #7
      ProPlaya2005's Avatar
      ProPlaya2005 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi after calling them up they said there is nothing that they can do and that they are sorry. Apart from that fact I find that my internet connection keeps on cutting out every 15 minutes or so. My only solution is to reset the router which becomes fustrating. I have decided to cancel my subscription to Sky broadband. I was wondering if anybody could advise me to which company to switch internet service providers to.

      Many thanks
      Michael

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION