Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Dramatic change 8 days after going live

    This is a discussion on Dramatic change 8 days after going live within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My source of information which I believe to be fairly accurate comes from an ex BT engineer mate who is ...

    1. #11
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
      My source of information which I believe to be fairly accurate comes from an ex BT engineer mate who is now contracted back to BT to carry out LLU "Local Loop Unbundling" work on BT exchange's. LLU basically means freeing up the lines which have been hard wired into the BT exchange for the last 30 years, to enable them to be plugged into various suppliers equipment ie sky talktalk bulldog etc. The signal that comes down the line is exactly the same who evers gear it is plugged into either ADSL up to 8mb or ADSL2+ for above 8mb. I think BT ADSL Max is BT's fancy name for ADSL2+.
      DSL is the protocol used by cable companys NTL etc.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
      Slight mistake just checked with my BT mate on msn, BTADSLMAX is ADSL running flat out as name would suggest.

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      Yep thats right where as Mid and Max are the new ADSL2+ technology. I believe Connect is MAXDSL and Base in ADSL1 (ie pre MAXDSL).

    5. #14
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
      @
      reddwarfcrew

      I am on Base and believe it is also ADSL2+

      Just checked my router using Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.3 from this forum and get

      Mode: ADSL2+

      Andy

    6. #15
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Thanks for that info Andy. I've updated the ADSL tutorial.

    7. #16
      scotlynx's Avatar
      scotlynx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well just to round off with an update this is my latest stats:

      System Up Time 00:08:51
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 5325 7192 0 2893 18185 00:08:31
      LAN 10M/100M 7507 5648 0 18131 3104 00:08:49
      WLAN 11M/54M 79 0 0 22 0 00:08:39

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.0 db 14.0 db
      Noise Margin 11.2 db 24.0 db

      The last speed test I did just after this reset gave me a download of just over 5MB so i'm happy. Just hope it stays about this from here on.

      All i need to do now is perfect all my downloading settings to get around the traffic management. Not because I download gigabytes, just because when i do download it tends to be a big file found on P2P or torrents

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION