Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    very poor connection up 2 mbytes

    This is a discussion on very poor connection up 2 mbytes within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As I understand, each time you reboot your router, it try to sync at the highest rate whilst achieving a ...

    1. #11
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      As I understand, each time you reboot your router, it try to sync at the highest rate whilst achieving a Noise Margin of 6.9db.

      The lower the NM, the higher the speed, but the less stable the connection.

      NM fluctuates throughout the day and tends to be higher during weekday mornings than weekday evenings.

      So if you reboot your router during the weekday morning it will sync at quite a high rate and you will keep that speed until you next reboot. HOWEVER, as the day moves into the evening and the NM drops you will find your connection may become unstable.

      If you reboot in the weekday evening, then you will get a lower speed, but as you will have sync'd at the poorest time you will have s stable connection. As you then move into the weekday daytime, your router speed will still remain the same, but your NM will increase to up to 10db.

      Rebooting in the weekday evening and leaving your router swicthed on will give you a lower speed, but stable connection 24x7.

      Rebooting in the weekday daytime will give a higher speed, but the connection may not be stable at all times.

      Hope this helps.... and that i'm not talking rubbish!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yep i get it...ty, so i am stuck with my slow speed now until i reboot very late tonight when they are all in the land on nod

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      You could get the router to sync at a lower NM in order to get a higher speed, but as your NM is already 6.5db, sycning at anything lower will cause you an unstable connection.

      The technical forum on your here can provide more info.

    5. #14
      myoracledba's Avatar
      myoracledba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3008 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.5 db 13.0 db



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2688 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 12.0 db




      Why line Attenuation lkeep chaning now 60 db from15 db ?

    6. #15
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      The 15.5 figures is a bug. the 60 figure is the true figure.

    7. #16
      myoracledba's Avatar
      myoracledba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts



      We do have Easynet: Enabled and I am away from exchange box about 1.5 miles = 2.5 km So I should the theoretical maximum speed
      with
      ADSL 6-8 Mbytes
      ADSL2 9 Mbytes
      ADSL2+ 9 Mbytes


      General information
      Exchange name: Walsall
      Exchange code: CMWL
      Postcode: WS12HE

      Local loop unbundling nce Be: Enabled
      Bulldog: Enabled
      Carphone Warehouse: RFS date set (Date unknown)
      Easynet: Enabled
      Edge Telecom: Not available
      HomeChoice: Not available
      Pipex: Not available
      Node4: Not available
      Tiscali: Not available
      Wanadoo: Not available
      Zen Internet: Not available
      Last edited by myoracledba; 03-12-06 at 06:54 PM. Reason: None

    8. #17
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      the distance from the exchange you quote is probably as the crow flies. A line attenuation of 60 suggests that the actual route that the cabling takes is far longer than 2.5km.

    9. #18
      myoracledba's Avatar
      myoracledba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      the distance from the exchange you quote is probably as the crow flies. A line attenuation of 60 suggests that the actual route that the cabling takes is far longer than 2.5km.
      I did use maps.google.com to check the distance between my zip code and exchange box
      WS12HE
      .
      let assume 3 km. Do I have here ADSL or ADSL+2 in my location ?
      How do you determine the distance by looking at line attenuation ?
      Thanks
      Last edited by myoracledba; 03-12-06 at 07:04 PM.

    10. #19
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      yes you appear to be on ADSL2+ (you can tell by your upload sync rate).
      You cant assume that its 3km. It could be 5km, it could be 9km. It depends on the route the cable has been laid under the road. and that is an unknown.

      Unless you can get your line attenuation to go lower you won't get any higher speeds and I dont think BT will let you dig up their cables and re-route them to a more direct route to your house. Sorry.

    11. #20
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      think of it anotherway.

      You have a clock and your house is at 12oclock and your exchange is at 9pm.

      You could get to your exchange my taking 3 steps (ie 12 to 11 to 10 etc) or you could take 9 steps (ie 1, 2, 3 etc).

      Unless you know which way BT have gone you can't judge your distance from the exchange by postcode to postcode.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION