Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Help I Only Get 2MB on Connect

    This is a discussion on Help I Only Get 2MB on Connect within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My max speed is 2Mbps and I'm on the connect package. I was expecting to get upto 8Mbps but Tech ...

    1. #1
      jackthelad's Avatar
      jackthelad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swinton, Manchester
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help I Only Get 2MB on Connect

      My max speed is 2Mbps and I'm on the connect package.

      I was expecting to get upto 8Mbps but Tech Support tell me 2Mbps is the max for my exchange

      I've done a check for my number on BT Wholesale site and got the following report

      For Telephone Number 0161794xxxx on Exchange SWINTON

      Your exchange is ADSL enabled, and our initial test on your line indicates that your line should be able to have an ADSL broadband service that provides a line rate up to 2Mbps.


      Our test also indicates that your line should be able to support a potential ADSL Max broadband line rate of 5.5Mbps up to 8Mbps.

      The actual ADSL Max line rate supportable will be determined during the first 10 days of use, after which time the highest stable rate possible will be set.
      Can somebody confirm that Sky Connect is equivalent to ASDL Max and that I should be getting the higher speed

      Thanks Jack
      Last edited by jackthelad; 23-11-06 at 05:51 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      No, Its 5.5mb the maximum!

      Also that 5.5mb is on adsl1 aka Connect? ADSL2 aka Max, You should see hopefully 11Mb!

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      You been drinking too much fizzy pop FibreOptic? He says he's on Connect so he can't get 11Mb.

      @jackthelad

      Yes - Connect is just a re-badged ADSLMax. The checker you used is usually pretty accurate.

      What are your router stats and how long have you been connected?

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      loll. let me break down my last post?

      Also that 5.5mb is on adsl1 aka Connect? - This is what he should get now! Hence aka Connect!

      ADSL2 aka Max, You should see hopefully 11Mb! - This is if he goes onto max- hence Max!

    6. #5
      jackthelad's Avatar
      jackthelad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swinton, Manchester
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      You been drinking too much fizzy pop FibreOptic? He says he's on Connect so he can't get 11Mb.

      @jackthelad

      Yes - Connect is just a re-badged ADSLMax. The checker you used is usually pretty accurate.

      What are your router stats and how long have you been connected?
      Thanks guys

      Following are my router statistics


      System Up Time 99:26:26
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 5344 6905 0 32 207 09:04:56
      LAN 10M/100M 5212 0 0 4 0 99:26:24
      WLAN 11M/54M 83338 58276 0 242 29 99:26:14


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2272 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 32.3 db 15.0 db


      Was wondering if my problems stem from previous ISP (Tiscali)

      Was with them on a 512kb package, but just before migrating to Sky asked to be transferred to 2Mb which never materialised

      Could it be that BT transferred me to Sky AND put a 2Mb cap on at the same time?

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Based on your attenuation you should be able to get the full 7.5Mb on Connect?

      Maybe you should ring Sky to see if they have mistakenly placed a CAP on you?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION