Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Who should I believe?!

    This is a discussion on Who should I believe?! within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, This is my first post, I hope you wonderful people can help me! I have just taken the ...

    1. #1
      nitram's Avatar
      nitram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Urmston, Manchester
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Who should I believe?!

      Hi guys,

      This is my first post, I hope you wonderful people can help me!

      I have just taken the plunge and signed up for MAX. I'm currently on the BT up to 8Mbps ADSL service. I was told by the lady on the phone that I will not get more than 4.5Mbps. However, when using sites such as this, I am getting a much higher suggestion of 10-14Mbps, based on my downstream line attenuation of 31.0 db (I'm currently synced at 3616kbps).

      Someone is lying! The lady at Sky was pretty adamant I won't get more than that 4.5Mbps. What do you guys reckon I should expect? Does it actually get capped at a lower rate if they reckon it won't handle higher or is it a suck-it-and-see job?

      Looking forward to your replies!
      Many thanks
      Martin.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Well take it this way! My attenuation is 32.0db, However my cap is;

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7200 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 14.0 db

      !

      The attenuation plays a key factor on your maximum speed, However other things can effect it

      • Noise
      • Age of Line
      • Quality of Line
      • Number of Customers on Exchange (Contention Ratio)


      Also that speed of 4.5mb ? Is that BTs Quote, If so! Ignore that!

      Thats the max speed you will get on ADSL1 aka MaxDSL, Skys MAX Service uses ADSL2!

    4. #3
      nitram's Avatar
      nitram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Urmston, Manchester
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Also that speed of 4.5mb ? Is that BTs Quote, If so! Ignore that!

      Thats the max speed you will get on ADSL1 aka MaxDSL, Skys MAX Service uses ADSL2!
      That is what the woman at Sky told me when I ordered Max. Thinking about it, I think she said that was what BT say, but surely it's what Easynet say?! I do find it hard to believe that moving to ADSL2+ will give me only a rise of 1Mbps.
      I guess it's just a case of wait and see, but I was just wondering how she came to the quote of 4.5 and also whether there was any caps would be put on the line automatically from that prediction?

      EDIT: I've just had a look on the BT website and that quotes 4.5Mbps for ADSL Max! It certainly seems our friendly Sky person was checking the wrong thing! I'll have a good look at the letter when it arrives and check she's ordered the right thing for me!
      Last edited by nitram; 22-11-06 at 09:01 PM. Reason: Update

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site nitram

      Yes they tend to do that a lot you should get 10-14Mbps but as always it depends on the line etc.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Nitram,
      The woman at Sky was probably looking at the DSL speed checker in Chordiant.
      That's based on what we get told by BT.
      And for he record,she cant have been checking the wrong thing BECAUSE THAT IS ALL we have got!!!

    7. #6
      nitram's Avatar
      nitram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Urmston, Manchester
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by spike7451 View Post
      And for he record,she cant have been checking the wrong thing BECAUSE THAT IS ALL we have got!!!
      No need to shout!!! I apologise if I offended anyone, it wasn't my intention.

      I said *it seems* she was looking at the wrong thing as I guessed there would be one checker for ADSL(1) and a different checker for ADSL2+ as these will give different results!!!


    8. #7
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Ahh...Sounds like you were speaking to the all knowing,for ever -get -it -right-eventually people in Provisioning & not Tech support.
      Sorry for shouting,too much Guiness.....

    9. #8
      nitram's Avatar
      nitram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Urmston, Manchester
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yes, it was a provisioning person I spoke to! I guess I shall just have to see what happens when I get activated.

      Guinness tends to do that!

    10. #9
      nitram's Avatar
      nitram is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Urmston, Manchester
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I was just thinking, is it possible that my exchange has been unbundled but not for adsl2+, which would explain why I was only told 4.5mbps and not a more expected 10 or so? The exchange was only done a couple of weeks ago.

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION