Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Am i getting the most out of my connection?

    This is a discussion on Am i getting the most out of my connection? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Try this ....

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Try this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      irvin's Avatar
      irvin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ellesmere Port
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It worked!! Nice one Saturday. Thanks.

      Got same answer from NewsreadeR, thanks to him also!

      Getting that file @ 1320KB/sec now!

      Last edited by irvin; 30-11-06 at 11:27 AM.

    4. #13
      surfmuncher's Avatar
      surfmuncher is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Newbie alert!

      Sky 8Mb Mid package, Cosham Exchange circa 2km as crow flies.

      I'm only getting 3Mbs average download and during the day I keep getting very low speeds and occasional disconnections. I did an BT adsl check recently and this tells me my line is only capable of 0.5Mbs, despite Sky telling me 8Mbs was attainable as they have just upgraded the exchange with ther own equipment!?. That aside I am getting the following stats.

      Daytime

      ADSL Link -----------Downstream--- Upstream
      Connection Speed ---2048 kbps-----416 kbps
      Line Attenuation-----51.0 db---------31.0 db
      Noise Margin---------14.6 db----------14.0 db

      Daytime

      ADSL Link -----------Downstream--- Upstream
      Connection Speed ---3712 kbps-----416 kbps
      Line Attenuation-----51.0 db---------31.0 db
      Noise Margin---------7.5 db----------14.0 db

      From somewhere esle on this site I have read that I should be capable of circa 6Mbs with this attenuation. Is this correct or should I really be capped at 0.5Mbs as this is causing the bad connections occasionally.

      Is there anything else the noise margin figures indicate

      If my line in theory should support more than I am getting (and even more than what the BT adsl checker says) is there anyway I can pressure BT to do this, I am paying for line rental after all.

      Thanks in advance for any info you can provide

      Surfmuncher

      No strapline yet !

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Yes 6meg is possible on your line if it is relatively noise free.

      The difference between the two speeds you have given example of is due to the big change in noise margin. A big jump like that suggests you have a noise problem.

      Plug your router directly into the test socket behind your master socket and see what that gives you.

      Ignore what BT says about your line. That relates to their products and has no relevance to Sky LLU products (which you are on).

    6. #15
      surfmuncher's Avatar
      surfmuncher is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well I tried the test socket as you suggested and I bounced up to 7Mbs. I did some looking on the rest of the forums and one of the posts suggested removing the 3rd wire from the extensions connected to the master socket which I also did. Result is that after putting all back together and relocating router back to original position on an extension I get:

      Friday evening:

      ADSL Link .................Downstream ........Upstream
      Connection Speed ......7040 kbps ...........416 kbps
      Line Attenuation ........50.0 db ...............31.0 db
      Noise Margin .............7.5 db ................13.0 db

      I didn't note exactly the stats from the test socket, but they were very close to the above.

      which seems pretty cool to me. Minor decreae in attenuation.

      By the way the 2nd set of stats from my first post was for 8pm not daytime, my mistake.

      I also tried: http://specials.zdnet.co.uk/misc/ban...eedtest50.html

      and it gave results hunting from 4Mbs to 12Mbs with repeated refreshes but mainly around the 4.5Mbs range. Not sure if I should be worried about the big range or not.

      I need to soak it for a while to see if its stable over a longer period obviously.

      On the basis that the above stats seem roughly the same as the 2nd stats in my first post for the same ish time of the evening (albeit this is Friday) should I call it a day and be happy, my gut feeling is I should be.

      Surfmuncher

      Still no strapline!

    7. #16
      jimmycobra's Avatar
      jimmycobra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: shaw
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      oldham
      Posts
      159
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hello folks

      some nice info here

      migration was completed from virgin to sky on thursday

      you helped me cure some speed issues with the max package. as i was getting only 7-8mb down with these stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 21.0 db 12.1 db
      Noise Margin 12.1 db 12.0 db

      i am only 900m line lenth from the exchange shaw near oldham. anyway after following this thread my speeds are i think a lot better

      Speed Test Results
      Date 02/12/06 06:52:27
      Speed Up 642.91 Kbps ( 0.6 Mbps )
      Speed Down 12429.69 Kbps ( 12.1 Mbps )

      it was done at almost 7am so i might have been the only one around at the time.

    8. #17
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Me again

      i have been forced to use another router due to the netgear router freezing and the connection dropping everyday.

      But now my stats say i only have 8000 when it was reporting 14000 with the netgear.

      Anyone have any ideas why?

      also what ENCAPSULATION should i use?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION