Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    hugsie's speed test - Telewest Blueyonder

    This is a discussion on hugsie's speed test - Telewest Blueyonder within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; congrats and welcome to the land of the high uploads and quality service unlike mine...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      congrats and welcome to the land of the high uploads and quality service

      unlike mine
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      I was a little dissapointed with the DL speed, but I figure the UL is worth it! I hardly ever used my bandwith to it's full potential, so it is no gret loss really!

    4. #13
      Nezza's Avatar
      Nezza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Which package are on you hugsie?

      You're getting just under 4 MB/s - if you're on Max you should be getting more than that! Do you live far from the exchange?

    5. #14
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      It is an internal wiring issue, here is a link to a result via the test socket

      I have removed the speed tests as they were wholey inaccurate.

      Here is a more accurate one. It is still far better than my previous results.

      Last edited by hugsie; 04-09-06 at 08:48 PM. Reason: Dodgy speed test

    6. #15
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      wow thats a huge difference can u just run it off the test socket forever?
      Last edited by EL_PRESEDENTE; 03-09-06 at 01:22 PM.

    7. #16
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      I am for the moment. I just have to replace the faceplate and all should be good!

    8. #17
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hmm that realy makes me wonder i have my dsl connected to an extension i was allways a bit worried about fiddling with BT stuff heard bad stories but they seem to want u too now days which is nice

      http://www2.bt.com/static/i/microsit...ing/noisy.html

    9. #18
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Well if they can get you to run that one basic test think how much it saves them in engineers calls.

    10. #19
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      well tbh i didnt even know they had a test socket, how sad is that.
      and how true they can say they only provide the master socket and anything else will cost ya if its playing up

      silly of me to think they wouldnt have a way to fob you off and way to get some moolah

    11. #20
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      I didn't til I started looking around about ADSL. From a business view it makes great sense.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION