Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    128kbps connection speed instead of 8meg

    This is a discussion on 128kbps connection speed instead of 8meg within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I think some members who had reported problems to sky were capped at 128 while sky investigated, the posts relating ...

    1. #11
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I think some members who had reported problems to sky were capped at 128 while sky investigated, the posts relating to it were not very clear, but it may be worth ringing sky to check!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      DSLAM or something???? BRAS is on Connect?

    4. #13
      Saiyan's Avatar
      Saiyan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by segzie View Post
      Plz,do anyone knows why am gettin a connection speed of 128kbps instead of 8meg (mid).My connection was ok before for like 2 weeks but i suddenly lost connection and there was no internet light on the router.i told sky n i was given a ticket number dat thier level 3 will handle it n call me back.they call but i wasn't at home n they left a voicemail that they will call back.they didn't but i decided to try to connect to the internet.
      I was then able to but will a low connection of 128kbps.I call again n i was told to do technical procedures n still no increase.i was then told that their level 3 will handle it that it will take up to 5 days but i still haven't recieved any call.
      Anyway,i was wondering if anyone knows why i am gettin the low connection when am not even leaving very far from my local exchange.128kbps is just too low when my line is capable of 5-7meg out of the 8meg mid connection.
      Hey... I'm on the Max package.... but I'm also having the same problem..
      when my line first came active I had..
      noise margin - 7.3db
      line attentuation - 30db
      sync speed - (approx) 13,000kbps

      and my speed was lightning quick. (tues, wed, thur, fri, sat)

      since sunday my noise margin GREATLY increased!!
      noise margin - 25.6db
      line attentuation - 30db
      syn speed - 133kbps

      So I'm also suffering from a slow connection now

      I'm hoping this is part of that '10 day testing period'..

    5. #14
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Did you contact sky about any connection problems? You may have been capped. The noise has increased as a result of the lower sync speed. Try unplugging the router for a good five minutes and reconnecting if you haven't already.

    6. #15
      segzie's Avatar
      segzie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I called sky many times already n its seems some of the broadband technical staffs dont even know what is the meanin of 2 cap a line or even the first time hearin it n was askin me what did i mean by my line is capped at 128kbps.
      I was lucky to get a good reply from one of them who even read the note a tier or level 3 has writtin on my account that he capped my line at 128kbps.
      Anyway,i still dont know why is still taking long to get my connection speed back to normal if the solution is to uncap my line.

      still waitin 4 a call bak from the level 3 technical staff about my connection n gettin ready 4 a straight talk wit the customer service if i dont get any increase soon.

    7. #16
      segzie's Avatar
      segzie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      problem solved.My line has been uncapped back to 8meg.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION