Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Ringwire question!

    This is a discussion on Ringwire question! within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have taken the faceplate of and nothing is connected to it. Its connected to the other socket with 2 ...

    1. #1
      skonz's Avatar
      skonz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ringwire question!

      I have taken the faceplate of and nothing is connected to it. Its connected to the other socket with 2 blue wires and all the other wires dont connect to anything does this mean its already disconnected?
      Currently unemployed - any jobs going anyone!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      cheesywad's Avatar
      cheesywad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Castle Bromwich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Certainly sounds like it!

    4. #3
      skonz's Avatar
      skonz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lol ok. Anyway Im getting crap speeds running at 1mb! any ideas?
      Currently unemployed - any jobs going anyone!

    5. #4
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      what are your line stats?
      How far are you from the exchange - check at www.samknows.com ?

    6. #5
      skonz's Avatar
      skonz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      under a mile as the crow flies

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8829 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 26.8 db
      Noise Margin 5.5 db 7.2 db
      Currently unemployed - any jobs going anyone!

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      That line attenuation is too high for under a mile!

    8. #7
      skonz's Avatar
      skonz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yeah i know any ideas?
      Currently unemployed - any jobs going anyone!

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Have you tried the master socket - The one where the BT Line first enters the house!

    10. #9
      skonz's Avatar
      skonz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Tried that and the test.
      Currently unemployed - any jobs going anyone!

    11. #10
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Unfortunately, it may be that the wiring from exchange to you is indirect. It can be significantly longer than the straight line distance. Mine is

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION