Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    slow slow slow slow sloe

    This is a discussion on slow slow slow slow sloe within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; lol. got the max package n dood on phone says i should get about 4.5/5meg speed due to the distance ...

    1. #1
      butty's Avatar
      butty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      slow slow slow slow sloe

      lol. got the max package n dood on phone says i should get about 4.5/5meg speed due to the distance from the exchange. sweet i says as only on 2 meg line now with another provider and paying about a million quid for it lol

      im getting less than 1meg out of it. doesnt really go over 100k a sec max. it was only 2 days ago the line was activated n its a new activation rather than a migration from another isp.

      do ya think the 10 day settlement period is jus doing its thing at the mo or do i need to worry my socks off lol

      run them tests on the router n heres the old results

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 22643 21075 0 1446 11799 00:37:11
      LAN 10M/100M 1042 0 0 47 0 00:38:32
      WLAN 11M/54M 23067 23775 0 11817 1593 00:38:22


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1067 kbps 444 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5 db 29.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 7.4 db

      im connecting through wireless n my signal strength is excellent (54m)

      cheers in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      wow you should be getting way more with that attenuation!
      I connect at 46db and get 8 megs.

      Have you tried the optimiser from the sticky in this section? Run that reboot pc and router and see what happens.

    4. #3
      butty's Avatar
      butty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      aye mate i did n same old same old. thanks for the response. its good to know the line shud b at that speed. jus gotta get it there now

      any other suggestions or shud i hang tight for a few days n hope it sorts its face out lol

    5. #4
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Are you running from your master socket? Have you tried the test socket under the faceplate?, if you have one that is.

      It took my connection from around 4 megs up to 8

    6. #5
      butty's Avatar
      butty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yes mate i did that when i first got it but was gettin a lesser signal from my router and still the same speed as when i put it not on the master socket so moved it off.

      thanks for the reply bud

    7. #6
      gaspx's Avatar
      gaspx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just wanted to add that i'm pretty much in the same boat.. slightly bigger oars compared to OP, but still not exactly blazing download speed:

      ADSL Link..............Downstream...Upstream
      Connection Speed.. 1952 kbps..... 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation..... 54.0 db........ 31.5 db
      Noise Margin.......... 6.0 db ......... 13.0 db

      I tried plugging into the master socket, and that got me about another 50kbps when connected, which on www.speedtest.net bagged me an extra ~10kb of download.

      Is there anything I can do about this, or am I stuck at 2mb d/l for the rest of my days ?

      On the plus side, Sky is 10 quid cheaper than Pipex, twice as fast as my original 1mb connection and upload is usually around 550kb/s, so I'm not complaining. Really. :P

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      @gaspx

      If you have connected to the master socket, thats about the best you are going to get for the time being. At least you better off than Pipex though, and away from the Hoff
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION