Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Am I The Worse -230 kbps!

This is a discussion on Am I The Worse -230 kbps! within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Help. A complete newbie here! I have read all the forums and I thought I knew a bit but now ...

ammers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Am I The Worse -230 kbps!

Help. A complete newbie here! I have read all the forums and I thought I knew a bit but now I'm bamboozled by all the science, settings and tweaks. I have transferred to SKy from BT with usual nightmare. Broadband down for 5 days when promised it would be seemless, no router arrived, 20 mins phone calls etc. Anyway pain over I thought....

With BT it was great but now it seems like dial up. I have 8mb connect package.

Plus router page says:

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7904 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 15.6 db 24.0 db

I have all the filters correctly fitted (treble checked) and nothing is amiss in BT system other than PC is on 1st extension.

I am getting 230kbps download speeds and 367kbps upload speeds which looking at others complaining of 800kbps d/l seems horrendous!

I phoned Sky who said I'm getting 7904 as shown on router page. The chap seemed to know less than me. I mentioned speedtest etc and this seemed to go over his head. Chocolate fireguard sprang to mind and I began to cry BUT THEN I found YOU LOT!