Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Troubling Results

    This is a discussion on Troubling Results within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I got activated on the 29th (last Friday) and have been experiencing troubles ever since I migrated over from Nildram. ...

    1. #1
      Stretch's Avatar
      Stretch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hoddesdon, LNHOD
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Troubling Results

      I got activated on the 29th (last Friday) and have been experiencing troubles ever since I migrated over from Nildram. I am subscribed to the MAX package and so far have experienced speeds less than satisfactory see below:



      I called SKY up and spoke to someone whose grasp of English wasn't 100% which didn't really help much. She told me that a more technically minded representative would call me back ( I live in hope but until then...).
      I'm not a total novice to computers in general as I work with them everyday but when it comes down to Wireless Networking everything becomes a tad blurry. I am currently using the supplied Netgear Router, which is wired up to a microfilter on the secondary line, I have a decent enough wireless signal (around 70% mostly) and I am using a Linksys Wireless NIC.

      If anyone can explain the results shown above I would be eternally grateful, as even this web site is taking an inordinate amount of time to load.

      Some stats taken from the router:

      DownStream Connection Speed 7645 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.5 db 27.7 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 10.0 db

      Hope this helps in diagnosing this

      /Stretchy

      edit... just tried the one at ADSLguide.org and got the following results:

      Speed Test Results
      Downstream 53.7 Kbps ( = 0.1 Mbps )
      Upstream 629.3 Kbps ( = 0.6 Mbps )

      erm... eeek
      Last edited by Stretch; 03-10-06 at 12:26 AM. Reason: Needed updating


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Plusnet suck's Avatar
      Plusnet suck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Tried running the tcp optimizer?

    4. #3
      Stretch's Avatar
      Stretch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hoddesdon, LNHOD
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Downloading it now, (at 4kb a second ) giid job its small. Are there any guides as to how I should configure it?

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      There is in the sticky in the forum if thats where you got it from

      It could also be a problem that needs to be sorted out by tier 3 as there have been a number of people with the same problem.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Stretch's Avatar
      Stretch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hoddesdon, LNHOD
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the responses, I will check out the guide when I get home from work. Is there any magical way to speak to the tier 3 guys without going through the 1st liners or am I gunna be on the phone for another hour or so?

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NP

      Not really you have to go through TS and if your not home it wouldn't be worth it anyway.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION