Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    Totally stuck- abysmal download speeds

    This is a discussion on Totally stuck- abysmal download speeds within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have you run the tcp optimizer yet? before i ran that my speeds were like yours after running it i ...

    1. #11
      Plusnet suck's Avatar
      Plusnet suck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Have you run the tcp optimizer yet? before i ran that my speeds were like yours after running it i now get 800KB+ download speeds from my 8mb connect


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      rcaudwell's Avatar
      rcaudwell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks to all who have taken the trouble to reply. I have run TCP optimizer and a check this am on reboot shows a download speed of 714kbps.
      I have noticed that for the first 2-3 seconds the speed is much better, then drops down to the usual 600-700 over a period of 2-3 seconds, could this be a clue to what the problem is

    4. #13
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm on connect also and have the same problem, rang up sky and they said my line should be running at 8MB. I have noticed that before 12pm when doing a speed test I can get a dl speed of 6MB, but after 12pm uptil around 11pm, running speed tests between those times it barely goes above 1.5MB.

    5. #14
      rcaudwell's Avatar
      rcaudwell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yep, good old Sky CS, I got the "it should be running at 8mb" line as well, to which my answer was "well it isn`t" etc, followed by a 10min circular argument, (all got rather philosophical at one point- CS rep said something along the lines of "it could be running at 8mb when your not using it" ffs)
      Doesn`t help much though.

    6. #15
      loki's Avatar
      loki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WESTERN (WSWES)
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by rcaudwell View Post
      Thanks to all who have taken the trouble to reply. I have run TCP optimizer and a check this am on reboot shows a download speed of 714kbps.
      I have noticed that for the first 2-3 seconds the speed is much better, then drops down to the usual 600-700 over a period of 2-3 seconds, could this be a clue to what the problem is
      I am having EXACTLY the same problem as you. Will post my stats when back home tonight.

      Nice to know you're not alone, eh

    7. #16
      KeefeFox's Avatar
      KeefeFox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Cheam
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm on the Max package, up to 16 meg.

      I was getting speeds varying between 8 meg and 49 k. Their Tiet 3 support capped my download speed at just ubder 14 meg, and the system was much more stable. They've now changed it back and i'm unstable again.

      Hope this helps.

      Keith

    8. #17
      rcaudwell's Avatar
      rcaudwell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Gonna have another go at getting through to CS, although will be tomorrow now. Can you just ask to be put to tier 3, as I`ve never been offered this, or is it a case of the number of times you have to ring them etc.
      I might try a bit of "cs rep screening" myself; I`ll ask the question "what is an MTU value" and refuse discuss my problem with anyone that can`t answer. If I`m told to check the wires one more time..........

    9. #18
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      the lady I spoke to had the nerve to tell me it was spyware on my laptop causing the problem, that really peeeed me off, so I explained to her I do weekly checks on my system.

    10. #19
      Grifter's Avatar
      Grifter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Plymouth - WWPYTH
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Plymouth
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I connected to sky broadband yesterday afternoon and could only get download speeds of around 108kbps despite being on the connect package and supposedly being able to get 5500kbps on my line.

      After 2 calls to Sky to 2 seperate people who had trouble even understanding what i was saying i got absolutely no-where.

      I thankfully found my way to this site and this thread earlier today where i followed NewsreadeR's advice about turning off Upnp and voila! the next speed test gave me 6100kbps

      Many thanks for your advice and i will definately be visiting this site regularly to keep up with all the latest news and advice.

    11. #20
      loki's Avatar
      loki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WESTERN (WSWES)
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I've got the same problem. Here's the Stats from my Router:

      Code:
      ADSL Link	        Downstream	Upstream
      Connection Speed	11023 kbps	766 kbps
      Line Attenuation	34.5 db	        18.0 db
      Noise Margin	        8.0 db	        10.9 db
      I'm on a Sky 16mb package.
      I can't see anything wrong here yet am unable to connect at above 1mb and most speed tests come back closer to 600 - 700kb. Often my upstream is faster than the downstream. Noise Margin doesn't dip below 7, even between 8pm - 12pm, I've tried rebooting then to get a slower connection speed but it doesn't improve the reported download speeds from various speed test sites.

      text removed as per forum rules, if you want to discuss this please do so in the tech forum

      Anyone have any ideas of anything else to try? Thanks.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 03-10-06 at 06:45 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION