Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Slow speeds since Sagem - Strange response from Sky

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds since Sagem - Strange response from Sky within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I used to have unlimited 20mb on a Netgear router - pulled about 16mb down (no biggie in my eyes). ...

    1. #1
      mspoors's Avatar
      mspoors is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nottingham Longbow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds since Sagem - Strange response from Sky

      I used to have unlimited 20mb on a Netgear router - pulled about 16mb down (no biggie in my eyes). Had this working flawlessly for 18 months. My housemate who's name the package was in moved out, so I had to get an account in my name. Sky have sent me a Sagem router, but I get 8mb max down now. The router has been in for 14+ days, so the line training should definitely be done now, I'm wired into the router, plugged in the master socket (no test socket), situation is exactly the same as when th 16mb was coming down fine. My current Router stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.5 db 46.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 13.5 db

      I called sky about this today and bizarrely enough, they say my line is capable of 3.5mb max?!?!?! even though i am getting 8!?!? The initial test they did by sales showed 20 was achievable, it was 16mb on the netgear but since the sagem, 8mb only which according to sky is more than the line will do. How odd. My PC is absolutely fine, XP, 23 running processes, netstat showed 2 active connections and my iphone gets 800k down.

      The ability of devices to stay connected to the router is also questionable. Using DHCP, devices regularly lose connection, manually assigning an IP is better, although it drops on the iphone/computer form time to time.

      So all of this seems down to the sagem router, but sky's belief that my line can take 3.5 when it can blatantly do 16 / 8 has really thrown me. They are sending me a new router, but I wonder if anybody has any thoughts/similar experiences on this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds since Sagem - Strange response from Sky

      There is a fault somewhere, there is no way you would get 16Mb with an attenuation of 41.5, You are doing quite well getting 8Mb. The fact that they say you can only get 3.5 suggest you have a line fault. Wait it out till the other router comes and see how it is.

      You don't have excess noise on your voice line do you?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      mspoors's Avatar
      mspoors is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nottingham Longbow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds since Sagem - Strange response from Sky

      I never use the voice line and only plugged a phone in to contact BB support - there seemed to be no excessive noise, everything seems 100%. I'll give it a few days for the router and see how I get on

    5. #4
      Adamant's Avatar
      Adamant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDBRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds since Sagem - Strange response from Sky

      Possibly try a different filter / modem cable - always worth a try!

      If not, then could possibly be a duff router - sometime things just don't work!

    6. #5
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds since Sagem - Strange response from Sky

      Have you still got the old netgear router? If so can you plug it in and see if you get the old speeds back?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION