Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    My Speeds...

    This is a discussion on My Speeds... within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Are they normal?if not what could i do? On sky unlimited btw. ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 2042 kbps ...

    1. #1
      KyleF's Avatar
      KyleF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Speeds...

      Are they normal?if not what could i do?

      On sky unlimited btw.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2042 kbps 604 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54 db 36 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 16 db

      Also, my gaming connections (Cod, you guessed it) suffer. Is this because of bad speeds?

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      How long have you been with sky and how are you connected to the telephone line? There is more speed to come from your stats.

    4. #3
      KyleF's Avatar
      KyleF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      Im not a very technical person by the way so excuse me if im wrong.

      ive been with sky for around a year i think (My mum knows everything.)

      My router plugs into a box adapter which my home phone plugs into also. This then leads into the square socket in the wall.

      Sorry if thats hard to understand.

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      Right, for gaming you need to ring SKY up on 08442414141 and choose the menu option for broadband help, when you get through ask them to reduce your max delays to 8 for gaming as you have bad lag. They should transfer you through to the CST (Customer Solutions Team) or if your lucky they'll have direct access to do it for you without transferring, whilst they are adjusting your delays you can ask them to uncap your speed as you seem to be capped at 2mb at present - i would expect 4-5mb on that noise margin providing the line is stable.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      KyleF's Avatar
      KyleF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      BTW my ping is 143!!!!!! thats testing it using command on bbc.co.uk!

      Thanks for the great responce, was just reading the thread on ping. Would i be able to do this via email? call centre's really frustrating( or has it improved?) Plus it will be less fuss (my mums pays for sky and has no clue, im trying to improve it.)

      Thanks.

      EDIT: bedtime. I'll reply in morning.

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      Everytime i've phoned them in the past year I havent had any issues, occassionally you do get a stupid T1 agent but most of the time you dont. You can do it via the online form but it can:
      a, take a long time
      and
      b, they may not set your speed to the highest you can get

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    8. #7
      KyleF's Avatar
      KyleF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      Ok ill ring them tomorrow (need to get the shizzle of the mother.)

      And by the way, is your ping supposed to stay the same? ive tried 3 times to test it (commmand) and got 3 different results: 162,143 and 51.i just did 3 more consecutive and they all differed. Might this be why im sometimes on 3 bar then for say a few hours gaming is impossible on a 1 bar.?

      thanks

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      Are you on wireless or ethernet, wireless can cause ping lag. Are you on the only telephone socket in the house or are there other socket? Is sky tv plugged in anywhere in the house (should be on the telephone line for the first year) as you may find it is not filtered properly and have you tried a new filter to see if your stats change? You will need to call Sky no matter what to get your speed reset.

    10. #9
      BroadBandKiiNG's Avatar
      BroadBandKiiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 50 Mb
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      Quote Originally Posted by KyleF View Post
      Are they normal?if not what could i do?

      On sky unlimited btw.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2042 kbps 604 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54 db 36 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 16 db

      Also, my gaming connections (Cod, you guessed it) suffer. Is this because of bad speeds?
      Thanks in advance.

      You're gaming experince is more based on the fact of latency on you're connection.


      You want ping time to be as low as possible.


      You can use speedtest.net to gather a bunch of tests and see how good you're connection is at connecting to various distances.


      You can also use the new pingtest.net website to get even more info.


      Upload Will Be Upgraded In Q3 to Around 5 Mb - 10 Mb.

      Speed Wil Be Upgraded in Q4 2010 / Q1 2011 to 100 Mb DL and 10 - 20 Mb Upload.

      AlienWare Area -51 ALX ~ Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit ~ Nvidia 780i Mobo ~ Intel QuadCore Extreme @ 3.2 Ghz + Water Cooling ~ Nvidia 295 GTX GPU ~ 4GB DDR2 800 Mhz RAM ~

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: My Speeds...

      Instead of using pingtest or speedtest.net, ping from command prompt to a uk site such as bbc.co.uk or jolt.co.uk. Much more reliable.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION