Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

    This is a discussion on Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I think i am really below what i should be I have sky unlimited heres my results. I was expecting ...

    1. #1
      jackpot11's Avatar
      jackpot11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      I think i am really below what i should be I have sky unlimited heres my results.
      I was expecting well above what i currently i get.

      When i Did Speedtest.net I had something like 1.4mb download and about 0.6 upload speed.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2043 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 29.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 10.5 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      I'd agree your below what I would expect with your attenuation but unfortunately your stats dont agree with me, your at the max your going to get at present. You can try posting up some stats from your test socket and we'll see if your wiring is slowing it down.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      jackpot11's Avatar
      jackpot11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      How come its quite slow though i dont understand i know im not meant to get 20mb but im meant to get UP to 20mb. So i Should at least have about 7mb - 8mb ? Sorry i am not that Computer wise.

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      Theres no at least speed you should be getting, your paying for a connection from 0mb up to 20mb and unlimited transfer.
      Please post up stats from the test socket as I previously asked (link for how to do this is in the quick links on the left)

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      jackpot11's Avatar
      jackpot11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      ok i will do tommorow i post what i get.

    7. #6
      BroadBandKiiNG's Avatar
      BroadBandKiiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 50 Mb
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by jackpot11 View Post
      How come its quite slow though i dont understand i know im not meant to get 20mb but im meant to get UP to 20mb. So i Should at least have about 7mb - 8mb ? Sorry i am not that Computer wise.

      Are you connecting to the master socket?

      Also as stated you can get anywhere from 0 Mb - 20 Mb.


      If you want more reliable speeds then you can get cable if you're in a cable area.


      Upload Will Be Upgraded In Q3 to Around 5 Mb - 10 Mb.

      Speed Wil Be Upgraded in Q4 2010 / Q1 2011 to 100 Mb DL and 10 - 20 Mb Upload.

      AlienWare Area -51 ALX ~ Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit ~ Nvidia 780i Mobo ~ Intel QuadCore Extreme @ 3.2 Ghz + Water Cooling ~ Nvidia 295 GTX GPU ~ 4GB DDR2 800 Mhz RAM ~

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      Also as stated you can get anywhere from 0 Mb - 20 Mb.
      That is not quite correct. 0Mb is not a broadband speed, so they can't give you nothing and say you are getting up to 20Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      BroadBandKiiNG's Avatar
      BroadBandKiiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 50 Mb
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is not quite correct. 0Mb is not a broadband speed, so they can't give you nothing and say you are getting up to 20Mb.
      It could be 0.01 Mb :P


      So technically it's still 0 :P


      Upload Will Be Upgraded In Q3 to Around 5 Mb - 10 Mb.

      Speed Wil Be Upgraded in Q4 2010 / Q1 2011 to 100 Mb DL and 10 - 20 Mb Upload.

      AlienWare Area -51 ALX ~ Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit ~ Nvidia 780i Mobo ~ Intel QuadCore Extreme @ 3.2 Ghz + Water Cooling ~ Nvidia 295 GTX GPU ~ 4GB DDR2 800 Mhz RAM ~

    10. #9
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      Your line attenuation of 51 means you have a long line and so you are unlikely to get much more.

      Get your stats from your test socket and we can see if there is an internal wiring problem though.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Concerned about Sky Unlimited Speeds

      So technically it's still 0 :P
      Not really, Oftel now Ofcom, defined broadband as capable of delivering a a speed of over 256kbps, although many consider that 512kbps should be the minimum standard. Many ISPs will not consider supplying broadband if they cannot attain the latter speed. Some, including Sky, will allow the contract to be terminated without prejudice if they cannot supply this speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION