Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Problems with speed & dropouts

    This is a discussion on Problems with speed & dropouts within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have had a DG834GT now for about 4 years, most of which were in our old house and ...

    1. #1
      steveb255's Avatar
      steveb255 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with speed & dropouts

      Hi,

      I have had a DG834GT now for about 4 years, most of which were in our old house and never once had a problem with the router and got great up and down speeds.

      We've recently moved house and when I moved in, first thing I did was plug the router in to see if I could get any internet - great, I could - even though Sky (my ISP) hadn't actually connected my new broadband in the new house. I assumed I was using the previous occupants connection.

      During the the time it took for Sky to get me connected at the exchange I had speeds between 10Mb and 15Mb and no dropping connections. Then Sky got me connected at the local exchange and ever since my speed is up & down regularly and get regular dropouts.

      I have spoken to Sky engineers about it and they have suggested there could be line problems, they have run tests, put me on DLM etc but as soon as they see a reasonable speed on my router they close the call.

      Here are some stats from the socket in my home office and into the main socket that I did at the weekend:

      Test 1 - in office (filtered ADSL Nation XTF-68 faceplate):

      Downstream: 10238kbps
      Upstream: 415kbps
      Line Attenuation Down: 29.5db
      Line Attenuation Up: 18.1db
      Noise Margin Down: 1.7db
      Noise Margin Up: 16db

      Test 2 - in main BT socket (filtered ADSL Nation XTE-2005 faceplate):

      Downstream: 10237kbps
      Upstream: 415kbps
      Line Attenuation Down: 29.0db
      Line Attenuation Up: 17.7db
      Noise Margin Down: 7.3db
      Noise Margin Up: 8.4db

      Test 3 - in main BT TEST socket (tradional plug-in filter):

      Downstream: 10236kbps
      Upstream: 415kbps
      Line Attenuation Down: 28.5db
      Line Attenuation Up: 17.5db
      Noise Margin Down: 4.6db
      Noise Margin Up: 2.3db

      The 10Mb download on those stats didnt last long, it droped to 3 or 4 and has been up and down like a yo-yo since.

      Any suggestions of how I might get a stable connection?

      Thanks a lot

      Steve


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      Quote Originally Posted by steveb255 View Post
      Hi,

      I have had a DG834GT now for about 4 years, most of which were in our old house and never once had a problem with the router and got great up and down speeds.

      We've recently moved house and when I moved in, first thing I did was plug the router in to see if I could get any internet - great, I could - even though Sky (my ISP) hadn't actually connected my new broadband in the new house. I assumed I was using the previous occupants connection.

      During the the time it took for Sky to get me connected at the exchange I had speeds between 10Mb and 15Mb and no dropping connections. Then Sky got me connected at the local exchange and ever since my speed is up & down regularly and get regular dropouts.

      I have spoken to Sky engineers about it and they have suggested there could be line problems, they have run tests, put me on DLM etc but as soon as they see a reasonable speed on my router they close the call.

      Here are some stats from the socket in my home office and into the main socket that I did at the weekend:

      Test 1 - in office (filtered ADSL Nation XTF-68 faceplate):

      Downstream: 10238kbps
      Upstream: 415kbps
      Line Attenuation Down: 29.5db
      Line Attenuation Up: 18.1db
      Noise Margin Down: 1.7db
      Noise Margin Up: 16db

      Test 2 - in main BT socket (filtered ADSL Nation XTE-2005 faceplate):

      Downstream: 10237kbps
      Upstream: 415kbps
      Line Attenuation Down: 29.0db
      Line Attenuation Up: 17.7db
      Noise Margin Down: 7.3db
      Noise Margin Up: 8.4db

      Test 3 - in main BT TEST socket (tradional plug-in filter):

      Downstream: 10236kbps
      Upstream: 415kbps
      Line Attenuation Down: 28.5db
      Line Attenuation Up: 17.5db
      Noise Margin Down: 4.6db
      Noise Margin Up: 2.3db

      The 10Mb download on those stats didnt last long, it droped to 3 or 4 and has been up and down like a yo-yo since.

      Any suggestions of how I might get a stable connection?

      Thanks a lot

      Steve
      Test 2 gives the best noise margin so you're looking at a noisey line somewhere...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      Agreed and the result in the Test socket must be wrong, it cannot be worse than the other connections. This could be due to a faulty filter or a poor connection between the filter and the socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      steveb255's Avatar
      steveb255 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      I'm assuming that a higher db for Noise Margin is better than a lower db? I'm not exactly sure what the stats tell me with regard to Noise Margin and Attenuation and what are a good set of stats.

      I think the plug in filter on test 3 might be dodgy as with that plugged in the dropouts are even worse, hence the reason I switched to the ADSL Nation faceplates.

      The office socket is at the end of the cabling which goes from the main socket to a socket in the lounge and then up to the office. All cables run around the outside of the house and in through the walls.

      Thanks for the help.

      Steve

    6. #5
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      steveb255
      Hi here`s some information that might come in handy http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...explained.html and http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...eviations.html
      has the face plate got two separate connections one for the telephone and the other for the router.

    7. #6
      steveb255's Avatar
      steveb255 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      Thanks for the links.

      Yes, in the office its an ADSL Nation XTF faceplate which has both an ADSL and telephone socket built into the faceplate.

      Cheers

      Steve

    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      steveb255
      Hi I am sure it says you do not need filters as the connections have a suppressor built in do you have filters fitted

    9. #8
      steveb255's Avatar
      steveb255 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      Sorry, should have explained better.

      I only used a plug in filter on the test straight into the main BT test socket (test 3). All the other tests the router was plugged directly into the RJ11 socket on the ADSL Nation faceplate.

      Cheers

      Steve

    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      steveb255
      Hi at the back of the Master socket faceplate has one of the main wires become loose. Just enough to move when you are using the test socket then when you refit the faceplate it tightens up again

    11. #10
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed & dropouts

      If your using an XTE-2005 you should really get the same result from the test socket as you do with it
      Steve has made an excellent suggestion regarding checking the main wires into the back of the master socket.
      Your attenuation actually shows you should be getting more speed than your getting, I would've expected at least 14mb - hell I get 14mb with 34.0db attenuation!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION