Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Slow speed...

    This is a discussion on Slow speed... within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Erm... hello well... most of the people here complain about slow speeds but their speeds are sometimes double mine... I'm ...

    1. #1
      martango's Avatar
      martango is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speed...

      Erm... hello

      well... most of the people here complain about slow speeds but their speeds are sometimes double mine... I'm not sure how long my broadband has been this slow but it seems the same..

      Stats:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 229371 386795 0 1534 35046 04:07:06
      LAN 10M/100M 201280 109903 0 19351 670 04:07:51
      WLAN 11M/54M 190802 332174 0 16081 1371 04:07:43

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1023 kbps 400 kbps
      Line Attenuation 65.0 db 43.2 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 12.5 db


      Speedtest.net results:


      sorry if I haven't explained anything properly, first post and I'm 15 :/

      Thanks in advance..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Slow speed...

      Your presently at the limit of your connection, you might get another 500kbps in the download and maybe 200-300kbps in the upload but that's pretty much the limit for your line it's incredibly long at 65.0db attenuation.
      If you want to get these speeds raised you have to ring sky and get them to uncap your line.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      martango's Avatar
      martango is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed...

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      Your presently at the limit of your connection, you might get another 500kbps in the download and maybe 200-300kbps in the upload but that's pretty much the limit for your line it's incredibly long at 65.0db attenuation.
      If you want to get these speeds raised you have to ring sky and get them to uncap your line.
      sorry, but what do you mean by that I am at the limit of my connection? :S

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Slow speed...

      Noise Margin 8.4 db 12.5 db
      Target noise margin on SKY = 6.9db. Each 1.0db over this earns you a maximum of 500kbps extra speed if you are uncapped.
      Your line attenuation of 65db as I already stated indicates a very long telephone line and the longer the line the lower the speed.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Slow speed...

      If you have one, try plugging into the Test socket, take and post your stats from there. Use only the cable supplied by Sky, do not use an extension telephone cable.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      martango's Avatar
      martango is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed...

      Thanks for the quick replies,
      At the moment, my router is connected to a socket that is in a wall which is in a room that was built as part of an extension of the house. I will try to plug the router in the test socket and use a laptop to measure the speed, but only if my parents will let me. :S

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION