Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    why doesent my router match speed test

    This is a discussion on why doesent my router match speed test within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; how come my router says 18mb but doin the skyspeedtest it says 14.8mb and what can i do to make ...

    1. #1
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      why doesent my router match speed test

      how come my router says 18mb but doin the skyspeedtest it says 14.8mb

      and what can i do to make it say 18,am i getting 18mb or 14.8mb



      also if i call them and ask them to lower my ping will it affect my speed


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      Post your router stats:- How to get your router statistics

      You will never get the full download speed of the router sync speed, there is always around a 10% drop to allow for overheads.

      Dropping your max delays can sometimes mean a slight reduction in speed, it depends on your line and stats.

    4. #3
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      my ping is like 35ms its fine for gaming,so ile leave it i deffo dont wanna lose speed

      Stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18008 kbps 970 kbps
      Line Attenuation 12.0 db 5.1 db
      Noise Margin 8.6 db 8.0 db

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      How are you connecting the router to the phone line? with your attenuation, I would expect the full 20mb but you have some noise causing it to slow down.

      Post your stats again from the test socket. How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    6. #5
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      i can get the ful 20mb i should have tomoro,i rang them and told them to take the cap off

      but ime guessing they mean 20mb to the router

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      Expect a speedtest to give a result 10-15% lower than the router sync speed to allow for overheads.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      Please remember that the router sync speed is shown in Kilobits. If you do achieve 20Mb, that will give you a throughput speed of approx 17.5-18000kbps, which equates to a data transfer rate of 2 - 2.2Megabytes per second.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      well just gon into my router and found these stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 19661 kbps 948 kbps
      Line Attenuation 12.0 db 5.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 8.0 db


      but yesterday i was getting 14mb dl (speedtest) now i am getting 13mb

      but my router speed has gone to over 19mb wtf?

      and my ping has gone up to 36ms but my line anctuation has gone down more now

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      If you have errors on the line caused by noise, increasing the speed will increase the errors which will slow down the speed as the data will have to be resent and so it will take longer for you to get it.

      Do as I said above and plug the router into the TEST socket and post your stats:- How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      With your attenuation, you should easily hit the 20mb mark with some noise margin to spare, something is wrong with either your setup or the line, we won't know which until you get the stats from the TEST socket.

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post

      With your attenuation, you should easily hit the 20mb mark with some noise margin to spare, something is wrong with either your setup or the line, we won't know which until you get the stats from the TEST socket.
      I tried pointing that out in his other thread.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...go-faster.html

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION