Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 28

    why doesent my router match speed test

    This is a discussion on why doesent my router match speed test within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Maybe he will listen now...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      Maybe he will listen now


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      sorry guys just abit frustrated.

      TEST SOCKET

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 19661 kbps 960 kbps
      Line Attenuation 12.0 db 5.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 8.0 db

      ive ran virus scans with Nod and mcaffee Stinger,they found nothing
      i dont have tune up or anything,i did have but unistalled it
      i also tried that TCPoptimiser but it made no difference ,so i set it back to defaults

      sky speed test still shows 13mb

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      Do you just have one PC connected?
      Wireless or Ethernet?
      Are you using Torrents or P2P programs, including Sky Player?
      Open a Command Prompt and type netstat /b. Anything running you do not recognise?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      router is wired to my pc
      just one pc yes
      i use utorrent but only when DL it doesent sit in the taskbar

      netsat just showed lots of firefox TCP's with different Ip addresess,not quite sure what i was looking for realy so i attached a pic


      my router has been on for 368hrs and 48min do you think maybe me turning it off fir 20sec then back on again might help or even me reseting it

      also youtube vids are now buffering realy slow alot slower than before
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails why doesent my router match speed test-capture.jpg  
      Last edited by BBMAD; 19-06-10 at 04:41 PM.

    6. #15
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      ok well i turned of my router waited 20 sec then turned it back on again now i get these results via sky speed test

      16928 Kbps 823 Kbps

      2.0mb realtime download (nvidia website)

      but shouldent i be getting 18mb? or am i just being pedantic

      also this is in the test socket,i will switch it back then check results

    7. #16
      stevvi's Avatar
      stevvi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      Chill. I sync at over 19000 kbps and my Skyuser speed tests (if that's what you use) are between 13500 and 16500 kbps. With no disrespect to Skyuser, speed tests are flakey at the best. I really wouldn't stress yourself about it all.

    8. #17
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      well like i said my actual download rate is 2.0mb constant so i guess thats correct

    9. #18
      stevvi's Avatar
      stevvi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      Quote Originally Posted by BBMAD View Post
      well like i said my actual download rate is 2.0mb constant so i guess thats correct
      That is correct. Really, we should be thankful we have excellent connections as many out there must be very jealous indeed.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      netsat just showed lots of firefox TCP's with different Ip addresess,not quite sure what i was looking for realy so i attached a pic
      I'm afraid the resolution is too low for my eyes to read it properly. I think there is an address of 62.215.237.171 showing. If this is correct, it is a server based in Kuwait so if you have no contacts with that country, it may bear investigation.

      With regards your speed test, you will loose anything between 10 and 15% of your speed to overheads, so you should be getting 16700 to 17600kbps, which you are getting with SkyUser. A data transfer rate of 2MB/s is pretty good, many don't even have a sync speed of 2mb/s.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      BBMAD's Avatar
      BBMAD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why doesent my router match speed test

      lol i dident even set it that low,must be this site

      and no i have no conections with kuwait lol

      ile post the pic up again

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION