Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    ive just installed sky BB

    This is a discussion on ive just installed sky BB within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; as the title says ive just installed sky broadband, im on the unlimited package so should be getting speed of ...

    1. #1
      Mofinatar's Avatar
      Mofinatar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ive just installed sky BB

      as the title says ive just installed sky broadband, im on the unlimited package so should be getting speed of up to 20mb, instead im getting 3.5mb,

      the past 2 years ive been on virtually the same package deal with virgin, i only swapped to sky because they charge the same for what i had with virgin but includes HD on TV, my internet on virgin is still testing at 19mb/s as i can still use it untill june.

      whys my internet so slow with sky? what can i do to change it?


      ^^ thats SKY's 20mb package test


      ^^ thats VIRGIN's 20mb package test

      should have paid the extra tenner on virgin for HD


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 6 (BT Smart HUB)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      316
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: ive just installed sky BB

      You have 'just' joined sky so your probably in the DLM stages DLM stands for Dynamic Line Management and what it does is it optimises your phone line with your connection over time so if you were receiving just under 20mb with virgin you will most likely receive something similar with Sky. DLM usually last about 10 days and after 10 days the speed should be correct.

      Before I go could you post your router's statistics, how to do so is in my signature.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ive just installed sky BB

      Virgin is cable, so can't be compared to LLU ADSL - OP, post your stats and we can estimate what you'll get. As said, read your welcome letter and you'll see you start at 4Mbps and it'll go up if possible over the next 10 or so days
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Mofinatar's Avatar
      Mofinatar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ive just installed sky BB

      these are the stats you asked for

      Connection Speed 4093 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 29.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 15.8 db

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ive just installed sky BB

      That's gonna be about it im afraid - you're on a long line...unless your test sockets gives you a better set of stats...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Mofinatar's Avatar
      Mofinatar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ive just installed sky BB

      so i should have stayed with virgin?

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: ive just installed sky BB

      If speed is important to you, then yes.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION