Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Speeds Normal?

    This is a discussion on Speeds Normal? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; yep i used that although i didnt use a microfilter i just checked the internet without the phone line connected ...

    1. #11
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Asus DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      yep i used that although i didnt use a microfilter i just checked the internet without the phone line connected into the master test socket

      theres no noise on my line as far as i can tell, although i do have another two extension socket which are not in use, would that make it slower?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      Well, the test socket should eliminate any issues from internal/extension wiring, but it also depends what you're plugging into the test socket. When you say you didn't use a filter, is it an extension cable being plugged directly into the test socket?

      Grab a filter and the short grey dsl cable sky supplied. Plug a filter directly into the test socket and said short grey cable into the filter. Re-take the stats and I'd expect to see some more in the stats.

    4. #13
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by elim View Post
      what noisy equipment? where is this
      Well try user05's suggestions first
      Noise can come from any number of places, your phone line may run close to mains power cables or may run too near a radio transmitter. Once you get to your test socket where the noise comes from is out of your control!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    5. #14
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Asus DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      hi all, sorry for delay, but ive retaken the stats and nothings changed

      i used master socket -> microfilter (tested 2 different ones) -> grey dsl cable to sky router
      -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

      heres normal stats



      heres stats from test socket




      also how do i find out if i have a noisy line?

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      Something has changed, you not have an extra 2mb speed at the router

    7. #16
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Asus DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      huh? what you mean

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      Your first post had download speed at:- 12826. No from the test socket you are getting 14.5mb, nearly 2mb more.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      Looking at your stats DLM does not appear to have run on your line. Your upload is still the same ADSL2+ default for the old Max connection. Anything in your account details about line training, for some reason your connection may have been missed? If there is not, maybe you should contact Sky and ask them to run DLM on your line. It may not improve your download but it will your upload. If they agree to do it, remain plugged into the Test socket, or preferably, fit and use a filtered faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Asus DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Your first post had download speed at:- 12826. No from the test socket you are getting 14.5mb, nearly 2mb more.
      ah i unplugged an extension i wasnt using thats why

      can anyone find the email form to contact sky? i cant find it
      Last edited by elim; 29-07-10 at 05:31 PM.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Speeds Normal?

      Sky in their infinite wisdom appear to have changed the contact procedure without making it very public. The KANA form, which was used previously to contact Sky, seems to have disappeared. In its place is a simply Help box where you have to enter your query. It can be found on most Help pages, like this - Sky Help Centre - Contact Us

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION