Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Not sure if my speeds are right or not

    This is a discussion on Not sure if my speeds are right or not within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello this is my first time on here so forgive me if im not doing things 100% correctly. I have ...

    1. #1
      ukdeveloper's Avatar
      ukdeveloper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BARNET
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not sure if my speeds are right or not

      Hello this is my first time on here so forgive me if im not doing things 100% correctly.

      I have SKY Broadband MAX package with up to 20Mb download speed. I seem to be syncing at about 11meg:

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023o.d20h
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 10976
      UpStream Connection Speed 870
      VPI 0
      VCI 38


      when i run a speedtest i get the following:



      which is pretty good i guess??? however when i try and download anything from the web or more often usenet or such like the max download i EVER get is 1.2Mb. I have spoken with my newsgroup access provider who states there is no reason why my download speed shouldnt "MAX OUT" so im not sure why its so low?

      Any help would be great.

      UKD

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10976 kbps 870 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.5 db 14.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 8.5 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Not sure if my speeds are right or not

      Your speed looks a bit low for a sub 30db attenuation. What else is on the telephone line, how many sockets have you got on it and how many filters in use? Also are you in your main socket and do you have a test socket?
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    4. #3
      ukdeveloper's Avatar
      ukdeveloper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BARNET
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure if my speeds are right or not

      Hi Paul,

      Im in the only socket but not in the master (TEST). 1 x filter as only 1 phone in use. theres nothing really on the telephone line apart from 1 x phone and 1 x router.

      Before I went with sky (from Be Internet) I was getting about 14MB sync and sky capped me at 4Mb saying thats all my line could handle. That was until i told them it quite happily handled 14 with my last provider, and they upped it to 11Mb. Im not sure they will push it up any more though.

      UKD

    5. #4
      ukdeveloper's Avatar
      ukdeveloper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BARNET
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure if my speeds are right or not

      Also according to my mate at BT im about 900m from my exchange if that makes a difference.

    6. #5
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Not sure if my speeds are right or not

      Can you connect to the Test socket and take a fresh set of
      Stats, your looking to increase your noise margin, the more you
      can do that the more speed can be obtaind when the line is
      regraded

      Also ensure your using only surplied modem cable and try a diffrent
      microfilter.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Not sure if my speeds are right or not

      the max download i EVER get is 1.2Mb.
      I think this may be another case of mixing up bits and bytes. With your indicated download speed of 9.92 Megatbits per second, you can expect to download 1.24Megabytes per second. If you are only downloading at 1.2Megabits per second, which would be around 0.15 Megabytes per second, then you are probably using a wireless connection, which is not very good, or your PC is compromised or not set up properly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION