Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Poor speeds

    This is a discussion on Poor speeds within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Hope this is in the right forum. I signed up to Sky Broadband unlimited last month and had my ...

    1. #1
      kitten79's Avatar
      kitten79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stavely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor speeds

      Hi,

      Hope this is in the right forum.

      I signed up to Sky Broadband unlimited last month and had my phone line and broadband activated on 7th April.

      I was previously with tiscali (now talk talk) and for the last year have had fairly regular speeds of 3 to 3.5 meg. My exchange is 1.7 miles away and Sky quoted me 2.5 meg as the maximum my line would support - which I obviously know is not the max it will support having rec'd a whole meg above this for a year. As far as i'm aware the quote is usually lower as BT's database is out of date?

      Since Sky took over my line 12 days ago - the max I have had is 1.6 meg and only for about half an hour - the rest of the time it has been between 0.3 and 0.6 meg.

      Should I be worried, or have people experienced this and Sky sorted it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      kitten79's Avatar
      kitten79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stavely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 51:07:50
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 382563 420539 0 232 1919 51:06:35
      LAN 388839 363627 0 2003 356 51:07:50
      WLAN 46785 28425 0 0 0 51:07:23
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 661 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 db 34.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.3 db 11.8 db

    4. #3
      kitten79's Avatar
      kitten79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stavely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 51:07:50
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 382563 420539 0 232 1919 51:06:35
      LAN 388839 363627 0 2003 356 51:07:50
      WLAN 46785 28425 0 0 0 51:07:23
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 661 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 db 34.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.3 db 11.8 db

    5. #4
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds

      kitten79
      Hi are you quite sure that Stavely is the exchange you can have a look for yourself on SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Exchange Search Here is a rough estimate on http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...explained.html your Distance from the exchange is more than likely as the crow fly`s. SkyUser - Sky Broadband Availability and Exchange Checker Just follow the instructions on the link it will details on how far you are from the exchange.

    6. #5
      kitten79's Avatar
      kitten79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stavely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds

      Yes definitely stavely direct line distance 1.7 (2.3km) miles its just over 2.2miles (3.5km) by road

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds

      Phone Sky and ask them if DLM is finished on your line, if it is ask them to configure your line manually as DLM has left it too low. You have a fairly long line so you should also ask them to try your connection on G.DMT(ADSL1) which often gives better results than ADSL2+, which you are on at the moment.

      You should have a note about DLM on one of the letters you received from Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      kitten79's Avatar
      kitten79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stavely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds

      Cheers i'll try speaking to sky again in the morning. They havent been much help today - they are insisting my line can't support more than 2mbps (tonight i'm getting 0.5mbps)

      However this is my next door neighbours stats (on sky unlimited same as I am):
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 58467 77469 0 0 0 0:10:17
      LAN 79954 61658 0 0 0 4:41:21
      WLAN 2515 26 0 0 0 4:40:59
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3648 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 5.2 db 13.0 db

      and this is mine:

      System Up Time: 0:46:42
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 15410 20470 0 0 0 0:45:49
      LAN 28994 22111 0 0 0 0:46:42
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:46:17
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 576 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 17.4 db 16.0 db

    9. #8
      kitten79's Avatar
      kitten79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stavely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds



      got my line working by unplugging my sky+ box - so good news that at least i know i can get my broadband working

      but that I now don't have my sky box plugged into the phoneline

      no idea why unplugging the box from the phone socket has fixed it - faulty wiring perhaps?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Poor speeds

      Sky digi boxes are notorious for causing problems with broadband, especially when using the Sky supplied filters. You were using a filter on it? The part supplied by some TV fitters is not a filter, it is only a splitter. The filter must be plugged in first and then the splitter plugged into it.

      You should phone Sky again and ask the Tier 1 agent to pass you to the Customer Solutions Team as you have made improvements to your wiring which you are sure will result in a better speed. Don't take no for an answer, ask to speak to a supervisor if they refuse and if that does not help, hang up and call back. With luck, you will get someone with matter between their ears, rather than air. You should get 3.5-4Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION